We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I recently stayed at BOMC with my brand new fiancee (proposed on the QCT an hour before water taxiing to BOMC). I had organised for a bottle of champagne to be provided on arrival and also massages for both of us (which Pip had offered at half-price when she heard of the special occasion). The massages were perfect and just what we needed after our walk.
We also enjoyed a delicious meal at the restaurant, which was as good as any of the best restaurants in Wellington.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious and we were able to finish off our stay with a hot chocolate sitting on the deck looking out on the bay.

Overall we both loved our stay at BOMC and couldn't have asked for a better way to celebrate our engagement. The rooms and setting were amazing, and the food delicious.
Thank you so much for the wonderful stay and hospitality, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Firstly, Congratulations on your engagement 'en-route' to your overnight stay with us at the Bay of Many Coves in the Queen Charlotte Sound. We are so glad that it was a stunning and memorable visit for such an auspicious occasion. We have shared your feedback of your experience with the team on-site and we of course look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, for an anniversary, honeymoon, wedding or just an excuse to escape the city for some fine food in a fine location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
225
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a great view from our bedroom, lounge and balcony and enjoyed watching and listening to the many birds.

Our one bedroom apartment was well equipped and had it's own kitchenette.

Fern and his partner Sophie were very helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome. The wine tasting was a delight.

The wi-fi was free and worked in the room, with a 500mg daily limit

Dinner in Kumatage restaurant was understandably expensive but very good indeed.

Free kayaks and paddleboards were available..

We found this to be a totally relaxing location when on a long (nearly 7 weeks) trip. Obviously It's isolated but that's part of the attraction. Water taxis can be arranged

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms have great view. Suggest avoiding Room 603 because it is next to the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your stay earlier this year.
We are glad that on the whole it was a memorable and relaxing visit to the Bay of Many Coves, and that Assistant Manager Fern and Maitre'd Sofie looked after you.
We are sorry that you thought there was a wifi limit - we have 300mb and 500mb 'vouchers' but there is no restriction, guests an have as many as they wish during their stay. Apologies if this was not clear or inconvenienced you during your stay.
Apartment 603 is often a favourite as it is nicely nestled into the bush for privacy but still has seaviews, it is near the staff however they are respectful of the guests and the environment.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your visit to the Queen Charlotte sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opunake
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We opted for the Chefs Special for three nights that we dined. Every night there was something different to sample. Using local produce was a big bonus and having the experience to taste foods that we would otherwise not choose if taking from the menu. I enjoyed the whole calm and relaxed atmosphere the beautiful Resturant provided. Sophie was so lovely and attentive and went that extra mile to cater for our needs, even setting up a cozy outdoor area for us to enjoy the winter outdoors. She also encouraged us to push our boundaries a little further and sample some of the best selection of great wine, whiskey and port the BOMC offers. We had her pack up a 6pack of beautiful Dark Beer made in Invercargil for us to take home because my Husband enjoyed it so much. From a Kiwi point of view. We tend to travel overseas to discover the world without really looking in our own backyards. Plenty to discover here even for those of us who come from Humble beginnings. Don't be afraid of the five star status.... Embrace it at least once in your life.... Its well worth the little bit extra. Thankyou to the lovely People of BOMC

Room Tip: The higher the better if your after the best view but wear good shoes because it's a bit of a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libbataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Goodies, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
The team at the Bay of Many Coves are very humbled by your lovely feedback, and mostly we are thrilled that you enjoyed your 'five star' experience with us. The Chefs and Sofie are particularly pleased that you went beyond the norm to try the various seasonal offerings in the Chef's daily specials along with the 'Pitch Black' beer from our craft beer menu. We concur that the ambience in the Foredeck is pretty special with the waterfront setting and the wine and food on offer. Thank you for going beyond your usual boundaries, discovering the Lodge and exploring another part of your New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We fortunately stayed at the Bay of Many Coves after making a last minute reservation on our way to Wellington from Picton via the Ferry. The manager (Nick Goodhew) worked very hard to make sure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. His efforts are very much appreciated. The rooms were very nice and the location was quite nice. This hotel would be an excellent place to stay if you were searching for a very relaxing couple of days, wanted to go fishing or hiking on one of the Great Hikes of New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Goodies, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate the feedback on your recent stay with us, we are so pleased that you found us, even just for a night on your way through to Wellington. Indeed it is a perfect location for breaking the journey and either embracing the many activities (as you mention, fishing, sailing and much more) or for absolute relaxation and a retreat from the madness of travels. Thank you again for taking the time to offer a review on your stay with your family, at the Bay of Many Coves, Marlborough Sounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My best friend and I went for a week away in the South Island to get out of the bustle of Auckland, and what a week it was. We spent an incredible night at the Bay of Many Coves Resort. We felt like we were in a fairytale. We had the most breathtaking view from our beautiful rooms. The bathroom was stunning and the room amenities were amazing. The staff and room service was also exceptional. I would definitely recommend anyone who is looking to "treat themselves" to stay a night in pure paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the very top - however any room would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Goodies, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, Lauren, for your comments on your night with us at the end of May. We are so glad that the experience was a real treat for yourself and your best friend. We have shared this without team and we hope to welcome you back to Pure Paradise in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at BOMC as part of our one month tour of NZ. It was delightful and a pleasant change of pace from the other hotels and inns where we stayed. From the minute we disembarked from the water taxi at the BOMC dock, we felt that we were on a remote beach or island removed from the mainland. This has the feel of a real beach experience. The rooms are modern and sleek with dramatic views of the water and distant hills. The style is informal. And, of course the activities are water centered. Fern, the manager is very helpful and efficient, and the food is excellent. Queen Charlotte Track is a pleasant trail with breathtaking views of the water and foliage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Goodies, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Your review is received with pleasure, thank you, and feedback passed on to the Team. Our waterfront location does offer stunning coastal views and feeling of remoteness and peace 'off-the-beaten' track.
We find the 'informality' of our apartment style property is relaxing, un-stiff and with genuine kiwi hospitality, still with the luxury lodge feel.
It sounds like you made use of the natural environment within which we are located, the waters of the Sounds and the nearby scenic Queen Charlotte Track, topped off with some excellent cuisine in the Foredeck Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

In so many ways this is an outstanding resort. The chalets, while not luxuriously appointed, are very nice and have everything you need, and are positioned brilliantly for the views. We had 102 which had an amazing view of both the jetty, so you could see the comings and goings, but also of the surrounding fabulous scenery. You have a great sense of exclusivity here, as there are only 11 chalets which sleep a total of 34 people, and the resort was quite empty when we were there. It felt quite special that we were staying there.

I had a spa treatment and the in-house therapist was great. We also took a boat out for a few hours to do some fishing, and the Skipper, Mark, was excellent. We caught many many fish, and had to throw most of them back (strict fishing rules in NZ which are well abided by to protect the stocks).

The pool was a tad cold and a tad murky, but the hot tub was lovely.

The food was excellent, we had all our meals there (you can cook your own if you take provisions) and we also had the tasting menu which was really good (and good value for money).

The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. The General Managers were not there, and Fern was in charge – he was very nice but was a bit hassled and brief – possibly unsurprising if the GMs were away and there were also staff leaving too, as the season is ending.

There were two aspects to our stay that made it not absolutely 100%. First of all, and most significantly, you are charged for every single little thing at BOMC. It’s strange - it is most definitely a luxury and exclusive resort, but the room prices are not in any way extortionate, certainly not compared to some other similar quality lodges in NZ. But to make up for this, the charging policy seems to be that you have to pay for the tiniest thing. Example – we don’t think that we have ever, in all our travels, had to pay separately for a cup of tea at breakfast time if we were ordering breakfast. There is no buffet at all at breakfast, it is all ordered and paid for separately eg cereal is paid for separately to fruit which is paid for separately to a hot breakfast etc. This is fine in and of itself, but it seemed a bit mean to charge separately for tea and coffee at breakfast, especially as it is free in your room.

Another example, it was reiterated (in writing and in person) that fruit and cookies are always available free of charge at the guest lounge. Also that the fruit and cookies in the room would be replenished every day. We had to ask for both fruit and cookies to be replenished in our room, and on one day we nipped into the lounge to grab a cookie before going out on the fishing trip – the chef hadn't baked any so a member of staff said she’d bring us a piece of cake instead. That was nice, but it then appeared on the bill.

The biggest charging issue for us is that the member of staff who spoke to us about the fishing made it very clear that it was a great thing to do and that the chef would cook what we caught free of charge, all we’d have to pay for would be extras, eg fries, vegetables, dessert, etc. We caught a lot, and had sashimi for starter and a fish platter for main. We were rather surprised to be charged separately for the sashimi, and the platter, and then again the following night when we finished off the leftovers as more sashimi. We’re not saying it’s unreasonable to have been charged for this but to have been charged when we’d specifically been told it was complimentary (having paid over NZ$500 for the fishing) was a bit hard to take, especially for leftovers on the second night. When we questioned it Fern said we should never have been told this, and that the member of staff was wrong. We would possibly have debated this a bit more, but you don’t sign for anything at BOMC, so the first time we saw the bill was literally 5 minutes before the boat that was picking us up was arriving, so there was not a lot of time, especially as there were other bill issues to deal with.

These were that the prices we were charged for both fishing and the spa were more than the in-room folder stated – we had to point this out and get it amended.

One other thing happened, which was that at breakfast on our penultimate day, we were told that a boat was heading out to an island with a rare kiwi on board, and did we want to see it en route? We were vaguely interested, but less so when we heard that it would cost us NZ$80 for the boat to stop off (the researchers were trying to fund their trip apparently). Then Fern said that some of the staff wanted to see it too, so how about we split the cost, ie we pay $40 and the staff pay $40…….. in the end we said no, and whether it was because we didn’t want to pay for it (in full or in part) or for other reasons the boat didn’t come, but to have that kind of negotiation just felt a bit cheap. A classy 5 star resort would have paid the $80 for the boat to stop off and called its guests in their rooms (there were only about 6 of us in total) to tell us it was coming in if we wanted to see it. And we weren’t sure what would have happened when the boat arrived – would it only be those of us that had paid something towards it that would be allowed on the jetty to see it? It was just a bit weird, and felt money-grabbing.

So we left feeling a bit uncomfortable about the charging and financial issues.

As well as this, the resort did slightly have an “end of season” feel to it. As well as the GMs not being there, there was no maître d’, and several staff were on the verge of leaving during our stay, and others told us they were only there temporarily. A resort like this should be giving its guests the same experience whether it’s the first night of the season or the last, and it just felt a bit as though they weren’t completely “on it” – for example, our room introduction was quite cursory, so much so that they forgot to give us the key, and we weren’t shown the pool or hot tub etc. This is not to say anyone was anything other than friendly or delightful, they all were (especially the girls working in the restaurant), but we suspect that everyone might have been a bit more bright eyed and bushy tailed had we been there at a different time of year.

Despite these issues, we did enjoy our stay there very much, though mainly because of the spectacular setting and views, and the things there were to do.

Room Tip: 102 is in a great position, close to restaurant, jetty and pool, but also has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJM_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Goodies, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your extensive review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with mostly 5 stars/excellent. Your one bedroom apartment 102 has a fantastic view as do all our room over the jetty and the bay. Richelle from the day spa is wrapped with your feedback and very happy that you enjoyed your treatment. She wasn’t too sure what happened with the billing as there was a request for an extra treatment requested that was not in the day spa menu.
We have taken the time to look at some of your other reviews of New Zealand and you have been to some amazing properties like Waiheke Island and Taupo. It seems that you have had a few issues with prices of menu items and a lot of ‘strange’ things happening when coming to billing on check out. Some higher priced lodges/resorts in New Zealand have ‘all inclusive’ packages (which we do have upon request) as a standard. We like to give guests and travel agents the option of a room only rate. Your rate was the ‘room only rate’ which is great value for guests that like to utilise the kitchen facility’s to reduce costs and can be a nice change from having to meet the challenge of trying to get the value out of their inclusions. The ‘All inclusive rate’ that I think would suit your travel style and would defiantly make billing a lot simpler for you when checking out. We have a fishing Package and a day spa package available next time you wish to visit and we would be more than happy to tailor-make a special package to suit.
We are sorry that we, the GMs, were not here to host you during your visit as we had a rare time off and some meetings to attend in town. We regret that you felt the Lodge was at the 'end of season' - we are open year-around and with 18 staff in the summer, around 10 - 12 in the quieter winter months, and just two staff were finishing their contract at the end of April. This in no way should have affected your experience.
We are sorry that you were advised your fish would be cooked for free, and that the Chef had not prepared the fresh cookies when you required them, we would be very happy to offer you a refund for the amount you feel appropriate – please email enquiries@bayofmanycoves.co.nz and we can process a credit card refund.
We did have an issue with the pool which is now fixed, our apologies that this occurred during your time with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us overall, we appreciate the time taken for your feedback and we will ensure we address the few issues raised with the team for improvement in the future.
Nick and Pip Goodhew (General Managers) and Fern (Assistant Manager) & Sofie (Maitre'd)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing