We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning weekend”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had the most beautiful weekend at Bay of many coves in the Marlborough sounds. We had abit of a noisy night at the restaurant the first night as there were a group of english travel agents experiencing first hand the resort but the staff were very accomodating and offered for us to have room service. We declined and were entertained by the loud english antics. Food was superb. Amy was our hostess and we couldn't fault the service. We went kayaking and lounged by the pool. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing weekend this is a great venue. You can take your own food as the apartments have kitchens but the breakfast was so big we didn't need lunch and there is a less expensive Cafe were local s can visit by boat which adds some interest too. Hopefully we will be back to visit in the not too distant future. Forgot we had a massage each in the spa and the therapist was great.

Room Tip: Don't stay by the pool as it could be noisy
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreat851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your weekend escape to the Bay of Many Coves. On behalf of the rowdy English Travel Agents on a famil that first night, please accept our apologies, a group of 13 is large in our intimate dining room of course, and it is a very rare occurance! We are thrilled that the overall experience was a positive one and especially the day spa, relaxing by the pool and the service of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Queen Charlotte Sound at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Bay of Many Coves
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 320 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Unique location in one of New Zealand's most beautiful areas, set in a small bay with boat access only. The accommodation is very good quality and as in other reviews we experienced outstanding service and fantastic food. Stayed two nights and should have stayed five. Highly recommended

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bomcresort, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Bay of Many Coves. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your time with us and received good service. We agree that our location is unique in the Queen Charlotte Sound - the 'no road access' is perfect for a retreat into nature and with the lodgings around the hillside making for stunning views of the Bay.
We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We expected the location and the facilities to be fantastic; and they did not disappoint. What really made the Bay of Many Coves stand out for us was the fantastic service we had from all of the people there. Amy was extremely helpful in helping us to plan our itinerary before and after we arrived, and when we met her she was delightful. Nick and Pip were great hosts; everything was taken care of in an extremely discrete way; we were spoiled without ever being made to feel that somebody was doing us a favour. There was nothing pretentious or overstated about the Bay of Many Coves, it really was just lovely. Food was great, especially the beef and lamb, and the apartment was fabulous. We will certainly visit again if we are lucky enough to have the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleF325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

The team at the Bay of Many Coves are humbled and thank you for your kind words. We strive to run a very professional and high standard operation and yet with a relaxed and personable environment so hopefully we achieved that for you. If you are back in the region hiking again, or want to relax in the day spa or by the pool, you know where we are now, thank you both for taking the time to share the views on your recent stay in the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This accommodation was suggested by our travel agent. She couldn't have suggested anything better. We had a relaxing time, with the most perfect view. The food was excellent and the staff, who work long hours, were exceptionally helpful and flexible on every occasion. Totally courteous and attentive, we absolutely loved it. We were lucky with the extra 'Wow' factor in that a school of dolphins passed through the bay on our 2nd afternoon and we were taken out in the resort launch to get up close to them. Would certainly go back given the chance, thank you Pip and Nick.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We are thankful to Audley Travel for suggesting the Bay of Many Coves as part of your itinerary in New Zealand, and we are extremely grateful for the positive comments of your stay with us. We love to ensure the guest stay is an enjoyable one, when you travel so far across the world then it should be a warm welcome and full of great memories, of course the dolphins are always an added bonus, we never tire of seeing them playing in the bay. On behalf of the lodge team, thank you and we are so pleased that your visit to the Queen Charlotte Sound was a great one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently attended a photographic course at the Bay of Many Coves run by Simon Woolf. This is the second time I have been there for the course and this time was just as good as last year. Accommodation great, setting lovely, food out of this world - as good as anything you can get in Wellington! The staff at the Bay of Many Coves Resort are lovely, nothing is a problem, they are so helpful, even Murray McCaw (part owner) with his bionic arm! By the way he takes great photos too! I look forward to doing another course there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thanks, Gary, yes the September Photography Retreat at the Bay of Many Coves with Simon Woolf was a wonderful weekend enjoyed by an exclusive group - it is pleasing to know that you found it to be worth repeating, along with 5 other return guests! We think we have a fantastic location for photography and a perfect location for a retreat weekend and some great cuisine, we hope to see you back for another event in the future, and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

They say that time flies when you're having fun, it also stops when your surroundings and service are as stunning as they are at the Bay of Many Coves. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some fantastic places around the world and this one tops them all.

From the moment you arrive you feel very special, rooms are excellent and apparently have a TV, not that we switched it on as the best pictures are from the windows!

A big thank you to Pip, Amy and the rest of the team for a fantastic weekend and some of the best Americano coffees I've had :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on our little piece of paradise, where time plays with you! We love our Allpress coffee too, and are glad that this, along with other aspects of the lodgings, made for an enjoyable stay for you. We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Charlotte Sound again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the resort and all of them have been absolutely wonderful. This is one place that everyone should visit. The beautiful environment, top class service, and food that is so good that you just have to experience it to understand. This is the only place I have ever stayed that I absolutely have to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XFDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

This addictive place - fantastic ! Thank you for sharing your passion for the Bay of Many Coves, we love 'return' guests who fall for our lovely little spot in the Marlborough Sounds. We hope to be able to continue to welcome you and continue to provide a high level of service and cuisine.We appreciate you helping to 'spread the word'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
326 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#17 of 32 in Blenheim
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range: $539 - $1,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing