We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The people made this great!”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The people made this great!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We expected the location and the facilities to be fantastic; and they did not disappoint. What really made the Bay of Many Coves stand out for us was the fantastic service we had from all of the people there. Amy was extremely helpful in helping us to plan our itinerary before and after we arrived, and when we met her she was delightful. Nick and Pip were great hosts; everything was taken care of in an extremely discrete way; we were spoiled without ever being made to feel that somebody was doing us a favour. There was nothing pretentious or overstated about the Bay of Many Coves, it really was just lovely. Food was great, especially the beef and lamb, and the apartment was fabulous. We will certainly visit again if we are lucky enough to have the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleF325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
The team at the Bay of Many Coves are humbled and thank you for your kind words. We strive to run a very professional and high standard operation and yet with a relaxed and personable environment so hopefully we achieved that for you. If you are back in the region hiking again, or want to relax in the day spa or by the pool, you know where we are now, thank you both for taking the time to share the views on your recent stay in the Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
228
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This accommodation was suggested by our travel agent. She couldn't have suggested anything better. We had a relaxing time, with the most perfect view. The food was excellent and the staff, who work long hours, were exceptionally helpful and flexible on every occasion. Totally courteous and attentive, we absolutely loved it. We were lucky with the extra 'Wow' factor in that a school of dolphins passed through the bay on our 2nd afternoon and we were taken out in the resort launch to get up close to them. Would certainly go back given the chance, thank you Pip and Nick.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are thankful to Audley Travel for suggesting the Bay of Many Coves as part of your itinerary in New Zealand, and we are extremely grateful for the positive comments of your stay with us. We love to ensure the guest stay is an enjoyable one, when you travel so far across the world then it should be a warm welcome and full of great memories, of course the dolphins are always an added bonus, we never tire of seeing them playing in the bay. On behalf of the lodge team, thank you and we are so pleased that your visit to the Queen Charlotte Sound was a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently attended a photographic course at the Bay of Many Coves run by Simon Woolf. This is the second time I have been there for the course and this time was just as good as last year. Accommodation great, setting lovely, food out of this world - as good as anything you can get in Wellington! The staff at the Bay of Many Coves Resort are lovely, nothing is a problem, they are so helpful, even Murray McCaw (part owner) with his bionic arm! By the way he takes great photos too! I look forward to doing another course there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks, Gary, yes the September Photography Retreat at the Bay of Many Coves with Simon Woolf was a wonderful weekend enjoyed by an exclusive group - it is pleasing to know that you found it to be worth repeating, along with 5 other return guests! We think we have a fantastic location for photography and a perfect location for a retreat weekend and some great cuisine, we hope to see you back for another event in the future, and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

They say that time flies when you're having fun, it also stops when your surroundings and service are as stunning as they are at the Bay of Many Coves. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some fantastic places around the world and this one tops them all.

From the moment you arrive you feel very special, rooms are excellent and apparently have a TV, not that we switched it on as the best pictures are from the windows!

A big thank you to Pip, Amy and the rest of the team for a fantastic weekend and some of the best Americano coffees I've had :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views on our little piece of paradise, where time plays with you! We love our Allpress coffee too, and are glad that this, along with other aspects of the lodgings, made for an enjoyable stay for you. We hope to welcome you back to the Queen Charlotte Sound again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed a number of times at the resort and all of them have been absolutely wonderful. This is one place that everyone should visit. The beautiful environment, top class service, and food that is so good that you just have to experience it to understand. This is the only place I have ever stayed that I absolutely have to go back to again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XFDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
This addictive place - fantastic ! Thank you for sharing your passion for the Bay of Many Coves, we love 'return' guests who fall for our lovely little spot in the Marlborough Sounds. We hope to be able to continue to welcome you and continue to provide a high level of service and cuisine.We appreciate you helping to 'spread the word'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My first trip to the South Island, was to the Bay Of Many Coves resort, and I am smitten.
Reaching the resort by small ferry , accompanied by many dolphins , we arrived to a welcome party of the amazing staff form the resort, including a very friendly dog. The rooms and suites are beautifully situated to maximise the view of the bay, and are finished to a very high standard, each one being a little hideaway in itself. Each suite is self contained with kitchen, living area with TV/ DVD player ( you with not likely use ..as you will have too many other delightful distractions), and balcony. There is a café/ bar near the water, and on an upper level the wonderful restaurant is situated. The menu is an artful combination of well known and new dishes prepared in a thrilling new way, and foodies will feel like they have died and gone to food heaven. The wine list is imaginative and will please everyone. To work off the calories, there are some great walking tracks around the property, as well as options for kayaking , sailing , photography or just sitting talking to the pet blue fish who lives close by. A truly special place, thanks to the great staff and insightful management. You will not want to leave.

Room Tip: book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
What a wonderful time you had, Maria, by the sound of it, on your first South island sojourn. Thank you for sharing your comments on the Bay of Many Coves - we are very glad that the stay was memorable, that you enjoyed the dining and the environment in general at our very special place in the Queen Charlotte Sound.
We hope to see you again! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Your stay starts with a scenic 30 minute water taxi ride through the sound to the hotel. The beautiful scenery does not stop with the taxi, the view of mountains, water and gorgeous sunrises from your suite are breath taking. The suites are stepped up the hillside which makes them very private, which allows you to keep your curtains open to enjoy the scenery. Since you are in an area without roads it is a great place to relax, enjoy water sports or hike. You will not be disappointed with food or service at the hotel. Pipa and Nick who manage the Bay of Many Coves will make sure you will enjoy your stay. For those travelers who may be missing their pets there is Merlot, a friendly dog that will entertain you with his antics but also knows his boundaries of where he is allowed to be in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayofmanycoves, General Manager at Bay of Many Coves, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We appreciate the recent comments following your stay at the Bay of Many Coves. Indeed our 'road-free' haven is a special place for relaxing and getting into action on and off the water, and we are thrilled that you managed to do that and enjoyed your time with us.
Merlot the mutt is very fortunate to have a beautiful environment and a lot of guests to 'play' and hike with !
It was our pleasure to host you and thank you again, we hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing