We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nasty!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Canton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hampton Inn Canton
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Canton
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nasty!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The one word that best describes the Hampton Inn in Canton, MS is NASTY!

As a business traveler (averaging more than two nights a week on the road for the past ten years), I've seen the best and the worst when it comes to hotels. The Hampton Inn in Canton, MS is now on the bottom of my worst places to stay list.

I spent a few nights at this hotel in early 2010. At that time it was decent and I had no major complaints. So when visiting the area last week I rebooked the same hotel.

First of all, no one told me the place was under renovation, but I can deal with that. It's not the first time and won't be the last time that I have to deal with the inconvenience of construction work. I can handle dirt and debris typical of a renovation.

However, I can not handle the filth that I found in my bathroom the next morning. I checked in late so I didn't pay any particular attention to the condition of the bathroom until the next morning. I when I stepped into the shower I realized it had not been cleaned after the last guest checked out.

I can handle a lot of discomfort and inconvenience, but I can't handle filth (and that is exactly what this was). I checked out that day and found a room at the Hilton Garden Inn in Ridgeland, MS (only a few miles away). EXCELLENT decision!

Room Tip: Here' a tip...Don't stay at the Hampton Inn in Canton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina-Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    83
    35
    21
    10
See reviews for
110
64
18
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

When I arrived you could see some work was being done on the exterior of the building, as well as construction in the lobby. Not a problem, things happen and renovations must be done. I checked in with no issues although the staff person seemed indifferent at my arrival.

Upon getting up to my room I walked in and was greeted by your standard Hampton Inn decor. Nice and clean, but relatively simple. That's not a negative, just a statement. However, as I started to get settled in, I noticed a few things that bothered me. The desk chair was very stained and dirty in appearance, I'm sure it was as clean as possible, but not what I would've expected. The electrical outlet in the wall above the desk was loose and not mounted very securely.

When I went to make a cup of coffee, the lid to coffee pot was broken and wouldn't stay on. The pot also was dirty and didn't look like it had been cleaned to well. The bathroom and shower were nice, but the shower floor did appear a little stained and dirty.

The beds were very clean and comfortable and the room had a nice, "fast" tv. Overall, it was a fine stay, the place just seemed a little dirty at times. If I had to stay in Canton again, I would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BhamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend and not a bad stop. I was worried when I first arrived because of the outside appearance. Earlier damage to the front of building by semi's and the remodeling in the front lobby but when I got to the room my fears where gone. Clean room with a micowave, coffee maker and free wifi. Plus the front desk and cleaning staff was friendly. Nothin special about the breakfast and the room did not have a safe was the only issue I had. Overall this is why I choose a chain hotel over a no name one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here with my 3 kids when we evacuated from Hurricane Issac. It's a typical Hampton Inn, though it needs some renovation. The location is kinda dicey -- not bad, just not near anything. There are a few fast food restaurants and a couple other eateries, but you have to venture 10-15 miles south for anything else. The a/c wasn't working very well in our first room, and the beds were quite lumpy. I called the front desk a few times and the friendly gal finally sent us to another room, which had adequate ac and more comfortable beds. My kids enjoyed the outside pool. Still, the room was too small for 4 of us, especially given the fact that Jackson was also about to experience heavy rain and wind. They also ran out of towels, which I can understand given the situation. I have to give kuddos to the fantastic staff, though. I lost my credit card during this time and they went out of their way to help me search for it. The housekeeping staff was so friendly and wonderful; they came to my room and helped me look for it. When I spoke with manager Gail Clanton upon check-out, she was so warm and reassuring, promising to call me if they found it -- which, a couple days later, they did. Ms. Gail was so sweet and the entire staff was so welcoming and friendly that I hate to give this hotel anything less than 5 stars. But a few updates (listen up, Hampton Corporates) would get them there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stay here for work. Overall, not a bad hotel for the area. My rooms have been clean, though a little humid regardless if you run the AC or not. No signs of bugs. The front desk is cordial and friendly.

I did have one issue where the housekeeping staff did not replenish my towels. Actually took them all instead. After asking at the front desk for towels, I waited 2 hours. When they did not show, I dried off with a hand towel. I will cut them some slack though as it was during the recent hurricane and they were busy with other calls/customers.

Canton, is not known as the mecca of excitement. I recommend heading to Madison or Ridgeland for food and entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meraux, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

A bit dated, but still pretty decent. My room was pretty clean and the staff was great. I am hard to please, and this was was a good option for us during hurricane evacuation. Hotel was pretty quiet and saved us money with the daily breakfast. I only wish they would allow my dogs in. Good option for us on this trip. Bedding was really clean and they was the comforters each guest. Fridge and microwave in room.

Room Tip: Second floor a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I like Hampton Inns. They are generally clean, comfortable and safe, with a friendly staff. This Hampton Inn was none of those. My room smelled of mold and had mold on the bathroom wall. My clothes had the same odor when I unpacked the next day. The furnishings are dated and the carpet dirty. A sign in the parking lot reads, "Guests assume all risks." There was no one on the front desk when I arrived and left. My hosts told me that if they'd know where I had reserved, they would have told me to cancel. It is a truly dismal hotel in an otherwise reliable chain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brendastarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canton
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Canton Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Canton
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Canton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jackson/Madison
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Canton
Super 8 Canton
#4 of 8 in Canton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Jackson
Hilton Jackson
#1 of 38 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Canton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Canton

Property: Hampton Inn Canton
Address: 133 Soldier Colony Rd, Canton, MS 39046-9783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Canton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Canton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn Canton hotel during your next trip to Canton, MS. The Hampton Inn Canton is located near downtown Canton and the Canton Film Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Canton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing