We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveled for 20 years - one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Whitworth
Ranked #1 of 1 Brookhaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I travel for a living. Recently made a stop in this great city and was put in this Inn by my host! A real winner for business travelers and I will stay here again even if it weren't for business. Breakfast, coffee and hospitality are the southern best! Grat time had by all!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank floridaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_Whitworth, Front Office Manager at The Inn on Whitworth, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

At the Inn on Whitworth we strive to make all of our guests feel relaxed and welcome -- we are glad that you had an enjoyable experience while traveling for business. We would definitely love to have you stay again with us - for business or pleasure! If you ever find yourself traveling this way again, give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 160 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I were in Brookhaven for a few days right before Thanksgiving. The Inn had such a great feel with simple, beautiful decorations. Our room was very clean with a nice sitting area and desk and very comfortable bed. They really did a great job on renovating the building. And Sally was so nice and sweet, attentive to all our needs. If we are in town again, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

You can't do better than the Inn on Whitworth. I grew up in Brookhaven and, now that I've experienced the Inn, I will stay there from now on whenever I'm in town for a visit. Sallie, the innkeeper, is extremely hospitable and responsive. The property itself has all the hotel amenities you expect as a traveler. The modern decor, technology, and features, combined with its historic location, make the Inn on Whitworth a destination in itself. The property is on par with high-quality hotels you will find in bigger cities, and the service at the Inn represents the absolute best of small-town charm. Fast WiFi, casual breakfast (with outstanding coffee), keyless security, and other features make it a very "efficient" stay. But you'll want to just hang out and enjoy the beautiful place. The hotel construction includes great insulation from sound, so don't worry about the train - you won't hear it. Enjoy the great breakfast selections available at the Inn, but do save room for a treat (or breakfast) from Janie's Pastry next door. If your schedule permits, enjoy the scenery around town, including the Whitworth College campus (now the Mississippi School of the Arts), the old train depot, and some of the historic homes along S. Jackson Street. A lot of it is within walking distance from the Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_Whitworth, Front Office Manager at The Inn on Whitworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Steve,

We are proud that we can add a little more ambience to downtown Brookhaven - and we are so glad that you agree! Thanks for the wonderful review; we hope that we can continue to serve you whenever you are in the Brookhaven area!

Sincerely,

The Staff at the Inn on Whitworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Inn. It was wonderful! The lobby has such a cool vibe. The rooms are super clean and very comfortable. Next time we are in town,we will definitely stay there!
James and Naomi Helms Houston,TX

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed here twice and enjoyed each time. Sally made me and my kids feel very welcome. The decor is beautiful. Rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable. Showers are huge. It really doesnt feel like you are staying in Brookhaven. We were even able to get complimentary breakfast at Janies Pastry next door. I will definitely stay here each time I visit my family in Brookhaven.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheritha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_Whitworth, Front Office Manager at The Inn on Whitworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Sheritha,

We enjoyed having you stay with us, and glad that you are think about us for your next visit! We always enjoy getting to know our guests a little better with each stay.

Warm regards,

The Staff at the Inn on Whitworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Rooms were modern and clean. Service was first class. Sally was very nice and helpful. Recommend to anyone staying in Brookhaven. The kitchen area was fully stocked with drinks and snacks. Location in downtown Brookhaven was a nice treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachellebouef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

this was a quiet stay, I would recommend highly if you're staying in Brookhaven, the bed was comfortable, the rooms large and extremely clean this is a plus. a lounge area in the room nice. the kitchen area,and breakfast was great. this is a very nice change of pace from the hotel chains. we will use The Inn on Whitworth again.

Room Tip: plan ahead and reserve you a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_Whitworth, Front Office Manager at The Inn on Whitworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear John,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn on Whitworth! We are continually striving to improve services to our guests, so we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon in the near future!

Thanks,

Staff at Inn on Whitworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookhaven
22.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McComb
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Hampton Inn Brookhaven
#2 of 8 in Brookhaven
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Brookhaven
44 reviews
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 9 in McComb
53 reviews
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Brookhaven
Super 8 Brookhaven
#5 of 8 in Brookhaven
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Whitworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Whitworth

Address: 210 S Whitworth Ave, Brookhaven, MS 39601-3445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Brookhaven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brookhaven
Price Range: $139 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Whitworth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Whitworth is located in Historic Downtown Brookhaven and offers the traveler a unique small town experience like nothing in Southwest Mississippi. We have seven spacious rooms all finely appointed with original artwork by Dr. Kim Sessums. We have four rooms with queen beds and three rooms with two double beds. The Inn on Whitworth is where Art & Architecture meet Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn on Whitworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing