We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn is absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Whitworth
Ranked #1 of 1 Brookhaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our stay at The Inn was absolutely wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend there. The accommodations were beautiful, very comfortable and the staff made us feel welcome and were friendly. We will definitely be staying there everytime we visit our grandchildren in Brookhaven. We were very impressed with every aspect we encountered from Dianna, the inn keeper, to the gorgeous and spiritual artwork created by Dr. Sessums. Thank you for a wonderful weekend in Brookhaven! We will be back soon to visit again!
Carolyn Smith
Mobile, AL

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithcp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 162 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

Wow! who knew this kind of hotel could be found in southwest Mississippi, right off I-55. The Inn On Whitworth is a "hidden gem" but I believe its only for a short time as soon as the word is out. From the historically-correct outside facade to the modern interior it reminds me of places I've stayed in San Diego and San Francisco. The architeture and the original artwork are outstanding. The rooms are exquisite, only 7, and well appointed with original art as well. Diana, the hostess, offers fantastic hospitality just like I would expect in a quaint Mississippi town. Business or leisure travelers don't miss this one.

Room Tip: Room #6 has a whirlpool bath as well as a glassed-in shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

As a road warrior that spends three to four nights a week on the road, I look for services and accommodations that cater to the business traveler, but also want a unique experience from time to time to break up the cookie cutter stays while chasing loyalty points. I have now had two stays at the Inn on Whitworth, and will be back again in just a week or so. If you are cost conscious or held to a corporate rate for lodging, you will find this botique style Inn a very real gem. There are only seven rooms available, so you may find yourself forced to stay at a lesser establishment without careful planning- which by the way, the online booking has been very easy to navigate. I can also say that the national brand next to the interstate was the same rate! So what makes this place so special? The Inn is located in the older central business distict, and has taken advantage of repurposing a hsitorically significant building. But the older facade will fool you because almost every square foot within, is new construction. Furthermore, the artwork displayed throughout the Inn would shame some art museums and gallieries that I have visited throughout the southeast. The staff has been very attentive to my needs as a business traveler, but if you have that relaxed vacation road trip that brings you past Brookhaven, perhaps on your way to New Orleans, your needs are surely met in the same manner. Again, if you are traveling through Brookhaven, you owe it to your self to check this place out!

Room Tip: With just seven rooms, only one is ADA, and so any choice is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inn_on_Whitworth, Front Office Manager at The Inn on Whitworth, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Frank,

We have made it our mission to meet the needs of all our guests - whether you are traveling for business, visiting family, or just enjoying Brookhaven's small town charm. We are happy that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one, and, of course, we hope that we can continue to do so in the future.

Just as a note - and a little bragging! - two Mississippi artists created all the beautiful artwork featured throughout the Inn on Whitworth. A local doctor, J. Kim Sessums, also known for his bronze-work, did most of the big, vibrant pieces seen in the rooms, while Ed Williford (our Innkeeper's, Sallie, brother) did some of the earthy pieces located down the hall. We are so proud to have both artists' works on display! Glad that this beautiful artwork enhanced your experience with us...

Warm regards,

The Staff at the Inn on Whitworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familie_Shyrshov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brookhaven hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brookhaven
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Brookhaven
Hampton Inn Brookhaven
#2 of 8 in Brookhaven
193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in Brookhaven
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#3 of 8 in Brookhaven
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Brookhaven
Super 8 Brookhaven
#5 of 8 in Brookhaven
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Brookhaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Whitworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Whitworth

Address: 210 S Whitworth Ave, Brookhaven, MS 39601-3445
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Brookhaven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brookhaven
Price Range: $139 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn on Whitworth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Whitworth is located in Historic Downtown Brookhaven and offers the traveler a unique small town experience like nothing in Southwest Mississippi. We have seven spacious rooms all finely appointed with original artwork by Dr. Kim Sessums. We have four rooms with queen beds and three rooms with two double beds. The Inn on Whitworth is where Art & Architecture meet Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inn on Whitworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing