We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience, takes you back to school with major revamp on canteen food”
Review of The Classroom

The Classroom
Ranked #23 of 35 Restaurants in North Perth
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique experience, takes you back to school with major revamp on canteen food”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We dined here as a group of four. We were welcomed by a waitress who advised that there was no tables but we could share a booth with someone (we didn't mind) however were disappointed that other waiters were reserving tables for others arriving after us - this is where the disappointment stops. The tapas style food was fantastic and the cocktails although slightly pricey were brilliant and mesmerising to watch how they were made, we enjoyed brandy Alexander Lindt bunny cocktails for dessert. Definitely an experience will be back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A school like you've never been to before!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My date took me here about a month ago as his friend is the head chef in the kitchen ..
I'd looked online and was extremely excited to try this place out and its a step forward for perth's culinary and cocktail exploration .
We turned up at about 8 and the place was pretty full , but we managed to get drinks while we waited for a seat to eat ..
We said a quick hello to his friend before we were pointed to a free table and were promptly asked what we would like to eat as we'd had the chance to check out the menu while we sipped our drinks . Can i just say , the cocktails are as exciting to drink as they are delicious , it's like being back at school in the science lab!
The food arrived as well as a dish we hadnt ordered (a recommended dish from my dates friend) and to no surprise all of it was demolished by the two of us .
We both ordered the lamb burger and both agreed that it was the juiciest tastiest most flavoursome burger we've tried and we have both tried many!
The three blind mice , corn dogs and zucchini fritters were also amazing , there was way too much food but it seemed a crime to let any go to waste .
All the textures and flavours are exciting and the plating of each dish was creative and tapas like .
Just a fantastic experience all together and thanks to the head chef Darren for his amazing creations and making tapas a satisfying and actually filling experience!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant gives a unique back to school experience as others have said. The decor keeps you from getting bored with plenty going on wherever you look.
The food was OK, well priced but not the best I have had. The salmon was not the nicest, the ribs were well sized & fell off the bone but the plate choices were poor. This is not the sort of place you go for a steak or a chop. Only 2 beers on tap, neither are Aussie beers, the service was good & the staff friendly.
We went on a Thursday & got seated pretty much straight away, they don't take bookings.
All in all it was a unique experience, good on them for thinking outside the box. I have done it now, not sure I would take visitors to impress them though. The place is different, I found it a little noisy to catch up with friends properly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back to Childhood”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wow! Having a few drinks and a bite to eat in surroundings with nostalgic items from the school days of old. Definitely very unique. Service, drinks, food are fantastic. Good to see something different! I will come again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce19751024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The most exciting thing to happen to Perth! Bring the Melbournites & Sydney Slickers and show them what they're missing. Food is spot on and the cocktails are the best I've had anywhere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dansthemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classroom also viewed

North Perth, Vincent
North Perth, Vincent
 
North Perth, Vincent
North Perth, Vincent
 

Been to The Classroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing