We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oysters & Peel and Eat Shrimp!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant

McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 230 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They just reopened their Biloxi location after being destroyed 6 1/2 years ago by Hurricane Katrina. The location is just east of the Hard Rock Casino in Biloxi, MS on Highway 90. This place gets 5 stars!!!!!!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oysters & Peel and Eat Shrimp!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great gulf coast oysters. They were HUGE! The price was reasonable, nice view and friendly staff too.... We came for a late lunch and had a great meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    243
    110
    53
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We at an early dinner here. I ordered the shrimp and grits, and they were the best I've ever eaten. No matter where you sit, you have a view of the water. It's not fancy, but the food is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoozieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, plain decoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Food was GOOD!!!! My daughter got the kids fish and ate almost the whole thing, which is good for her when she is a picky eater...

Helpful?
Thank aaronhaumesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“McElroy's Deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We always enjoy eating at McElroy's especially the dining outside...wonderful view of boats and sea...The service is great, the food is excellent. It's a very friendly down-home kind of restaurant. The prices are very reasonable and the food is very good. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinda Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great coastal favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We always enjoy the food, staff and atmosphere at this local, family-owned establishment. This time, we visited them for breakfast and had the shrimp & grits special with a side order of beignets. The grits were topped with an amazing, creamy sauce loaded with shrimp. It was extremely tasty and filling. The beignets were a nice,sweet doughnut treat enjoyed with endless coffee refills from the lovely ladies on staff there. (If you can get Miss Sissy as your server-she is truly a character!) We always enjoy meals there regardless of the time of day. As locals, it is a time-tested tradition to eat at McElroys. I recommend their Gulf-fresh seafood as a must for out-of-towners. You can enjoy views of the beach from just about any point in the restaurant as they are in the harbor. Last summer, friends of ours even got married right behind their spot on their pier! We were so glad to see them return to this Biloxi location after Hurricane Katrina destroyed their long-time home. Their restaurant in nearby Ocean Springs is fantastic as well but not as close to us. Though they do have an amazing view of the bayou-in my opinion, nothing beats the gorgeous Gulf view they have in Biloxi. I still highly recommend them there as well!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slhandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing