We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Seafood on the sea shore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant

McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 223 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They just reopened their Biloxi location after being destroyed 6 1/2 years ago by Hurricane Katrina. The location is just east of the Hard Rock Casino in Biloxi, MS on Highway 90. This place gets 5 stars!!!!!!
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Seafood on the sea shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The good was good, but not great. We dined on crab cakes and a po boy. Probably should have come for breakfast, too! Glad to see it back after Katrina.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pegasus7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    230
    105
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good seafood with an Excellent View of the Gulf of Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Gumbo was good - not great but good. The broiled oysters were good. The fried crab claws were great. The club sandwich and french fries were delicious. The poboys looked amazing. Will return to try the oyster soup.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Most Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

There are a lot of local places to eat in Biloxi, most fail in comparison to McElroy's. Sure, they cater to the tourist, always have, but locals eat there too, and love it!

The seafood is fresh and food tasty. If you are looking for something truly local, get the Po Boy, it's pressed and dressed on fresh bread. Shrimp and roast beef are local favorites, but don't pass on the crab Po Boy. Try a cup of gumbo, or if you're there for lunch, a daily special.

This restaurant is well worth passing up on the fast food places for and one of the best local spots on the Coast.

Oh, the view of Deer Island and the Sound is spectacular! If the weather is good, eat out on the deck for a real treat. Oh, and DON'T feed the seagulls!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jwmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Big delicious breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We shared beignets, which were light and delicious.
I got the pancake stack for $4.95, which was 3 large pancakes, had to share them as were so big.
The coffee was good.
I sampled the grits. They were creamy and good on their own.
Great low cost eatery, wished we would have made it back for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Natives of the coast, we return a couple times a year to see relatives and eat seafood. McElroy's has been one of our favorites for years, but this location was lost to Katrina. We continued to eat at the location in Ocean Springs but it was never quite the same.

The old McElroy's is back, and boy is it good! This trip we ate there twice and enjoyed both meals. The crab claw appetizer was wonderful with fat claws fried just right. And not a restaurant on the coast can equal McElroy's gumbo which we both enjoyed. We topped it off with peel and eat shrimp which were seasoned just right and cooled to just the right temperature to make for easy peeling.

The service was superb. I wish I could remember our servers names, but they both were very attentive without being hovering.

Prices were comparable or a little less than most quality seafood restaurants on the coast.

We shall return as soon as we get back to MS.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McElroy's Harbor House Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing