We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off Of Their Game”
Review of Margaritaville - CLOSED

Margaritaville
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off Of Their Game”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We frequent Margaritaville regularly, and eat at the restaurant every time we're there. We were there Labor Day weekend, Saturday, 8/31/13, @ 1pm. I must say there were at least 30 tables without patrons and (3) - (4) waitresses. Imagine how shock I was shocked when the hostess told us, a party of only (2), would have to wait (20) to (30) minutes for a table, "Because we don't want to overwhelm the Kitchen staff and Wait staff!" Wow, on a holiday weekend!!! We decided to go to the bar just inside the restaurant and order a drink, but the bar tender never asked us in our (20) minutes if we needed a drink! I assume because she was "Overwhelmed!" We got our table at approximate (25) minutes. Our waitress wasn't "Overwhelmed" and our entrees were good, but the overall experience left us with a bad taste in our mouths! I hope this isn't the service and customer appreciation Jimmy Buffet is providing these days!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank usmc_dkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
usmc_dkl - Thank you for visiting and bringing your experience to our attention. While we are very happy you enjoyed our server and entrees, we sincerely apologize for this being your overall impression of your visit. The issues you describe here should not be what you associate with our place, so we will address your review very seriously with the team.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    43
    28
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible, rude service, no supervision.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have been to this casino/restaurant on a few occasions. I have watched it "fall apart." I was witness and victim to extreme rude service inside the Margarita restaurant. I actually left without ordering food because no staff ever approached my table. When I arrived at the restaurant and waited to be seated I was never greeted, but barely led to a table by a young boy. He was rude, seemed bothered by my party wanting to be fed. A female at the customer service window snapped at my wife when she asked a question regarding casino events, "just read the brochure lady!" I never noticed any supervision of the casino/restaurant personnel. Jimmy Buffet should be ashamed of this place, it is pathetic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigMike42_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
BigMike42_12 - We are very sorry this is the service you experienced with us. It is upsetting to know we missed out on hosting you and will take your comments very serious so this does not happen again. The events you describe here do not meet our high standards and we sincerely apologize.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The food was great and my virgin daquiri was awesome the only thing is the service was pretty bad !1!!!!! :(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jerrina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
jerrina m – While we are very happy you enjoyed our food and drinks, we are very sorry our service fell short of your expectations. We will address this review with the staff.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great Bartender "Ann"”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the place you would like to go to relax, from 4 to 6 it is really Happy Hour, and Ann Lyons the bartender will guide you to all the good stuff they have on the menu. She took the time to let us know the best of the best, and when the show would start. OUT of all the casino's in the area this was the most fun. I even came home with a blender.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thomas W - Love to hear you found great service, delicious drinks and lots of fun during your visit. Thank you for stopping by for Happy Hour in paradise!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, MS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Margaritaville”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We loved it!! The food was great, shrimp poorboy, and the atmosphere was very pleasant. Sat out on the upstairs patio, downstairs is only open on the weekends but you can walk out there and look around and relax with a drink. Our waitress was very nice and helpful. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lisa L - We're very happy you enjoyed our delicious seafood options, views and friendly service. Thank you for coming in - we can't wait to have you back!

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing