We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good luck getting a tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Biloxi Lighthouse

Biloxi Lighthouse
Hwy 90 & Porter Ave, Biloxi, MS
12283743105
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 50 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Biloxi Lighthouse was erected in 1848 and was one of the first cast-iron lighthouses in the South. It is the city's signature landmark and has become a post-Katrina symbol of the city's resolve and resilience. The light was civilian operated from 1848 to 1939, and is notable for its several female lightkeepers, including Maria Younghans, who tended the light for 53 years. In 1939, the U.S. Coast Guard assumed responsibility for the light's operation.After being declared surplus property in 1968, the Biloxi Lighthouse was deeded to the City of Biloxi, which eventually opened it to public tours.The lighthouse has withstood many storms over the years. Katrina's storm surge enveloped a third of the 64-foot tall lighthouse, and the constant pounding from the water and winds toppled many bricks that lined the interior of the cast iron tower. The storm’s winds also broke many of the windows in the light cupola and destroyed the structure's electrical systemIn March 2010, the city re-opened the lighthouse to public tours after a 14-month, $400,000 restoration that was funded by FEMA and MEMA and completed by Biloxi contractor J.O. Collins.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good luck getting a tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and couldn't manage to get a tour. Not there when hours said. Only offered 3 tours daily at 9, 915, and 930 if someones there. Cool to look at from the beach. It appears to be a working lighthouse.

Helpful?
2 Thank sheenaann1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthousekeeper80, Lighthouse Keeper & Tour Guide at Biloxi Lighthouse, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I'm sorry that you weren't able to climb the lighthouse during your stay. The lighthouse is open 7-days per week at 9, 9:15, and 9:30am weather permitting. We had a very wet winter so I'm not sure if conditions were rainy or foggy during your January trip. We also conduct tours early because the temperature inside the lantern room are far too high during afternoon hours and due to the railing being so low, we don't allow guests on the service balcony.

Tickets as well as other information about the lighthouse and tour status can be received from the visitors center across the street. Please stop by on your next trip into town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    81
    49
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you are already at the Visitors Center across the street definitely do the lighthouse tour! One of the Visitors Center attendants takes you over (it's cool how the lighthouse is now in the middle of the road) and gives a little talk about it and how it actually came to be in the middle of the road and then you climb to the top and what an awesome view from the top. The woman that we had as our guide was very knowledgable and pleasant and we enjoyed the little tour!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Biloxi Lighthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Biloxi Lighthouse sits on the edge of the Gulf of Mexico.Very interesting and worth viewing.The white sands of the Gulf makes the lighthouse look even more picture perfect it its days of glory when the ships were one of the sources of transporation.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dattripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Its not always easy to get a tour but the view is wonderful. The history of it is interesting. But the steps are somewhat steep and its close quarters inside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernTravelFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great goo there everday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

it great i walk by it every day .when ui was younger i hung out on the beach there .its a ggreat place to be clean quite sand is kept clean the pire is geart place to fish

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biloxi Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to Biloxi Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing