We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good Brisket , even in MS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hog Heaven - CLOSED

Hog Heaven
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Brisket , even in MS!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

went driving down Beach Blvd and saw this place and decided to give it a try. Great back patio/porch area in addition to inside seating. Friendly service , good bucket-o-beer specials and I must admit even though my BBQ tastes lean heavily to my Lexington NC style home field I was very very pleased with the BBQ Brisket. I'd go back again for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Try this place after The Shed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I got to meet the owner and he said it waa really good...and he was right! For BBQ folks, go try The Shed first and then come here. I think you'll find out that the food is just as good, if not better! I liked this place and will definitely come back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
442 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yummy BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I read the reviews before we came and had second thoughts on dining here but I was quite surprised by the food and atmosphere. We sat on the patio where one of the staff was having a birthday party and entertained the crowd with her singing skills and shared her cake with the customers. Our server was very nice & attentive. We ordered pulled pork, ribs & shrimp Po-boys. Our food was fresh, fast and so good. We had both custom sauces the sweet & spicy, great flavor. Love the toasted buns. The meat was tender, ribs were fall off the bone good. I recommend giving Hog Heaven a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tenisheat2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, LA, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful fried green tomatoes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Some of the best fried green tomatoes, ever. Ribs were good, as were the green beans. French fries , so so. Service also so so. We did go in late in the evening, so maybe they were ready to call it a day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“False Advertisment!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

They have signs everwhere saying Happy Hour 1/2 price drinks. ..but they fail to tell you it doesn't apply to mixed drinks until you get bill!!! Poor management!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing