We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not only good enough that I would go back but I'd recommend it to my friends as well.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #2 of 218 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westbrook, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not only good enough that I would go back but I'd recommend it to my friends as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place. Fun, busy atmosphere. The food is delicious. I liked very much being able to sample local beers. I wish I had dreaded up a little better but casual certainly isn't out of place

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    364
    100
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waleska, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The oyster cook, over grilled the oysters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had been here in the past and had great grilled oysters,but they have a new cook and the oysters came out like leather.. We'll skip this place next trip..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrjonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
125 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a treat! This was our first time in Biloxi and I read reviews on the restaurant. Decided to give it a try I had the stuffed seafood Portabella mushrooms with asparagus and a delicious halfshell salad. My husband enjoyed a delicious cup of gumbo, as well as a Caesar salad and the surf and turf. Food and atmosphere was above and beyond. So glad we got to try a delicious restaurant in Biloxi Mississippi

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fresh, Fresh, Fresh seafood! Living in Dallas when I am on the coast it is my goal to eat seafood everyday! This was the one of the best meals we had on this trip. Service was good, atmosphere was good. Casual , dressy or anything in between. Don't miss this one if you are in the area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Ambience, Even Better Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed a trip to Half Shell Oyster House during our stay in September. After talking with some locals, it was clear this was one of the places we needed to try. We heeded their warnings of long waits- and they were correct. We went on a Saturday night and people wanting a table had a wait of up to an hour and a half (we went right around 7pm). However, we were told to head upstairs to the 2nd floor bar, and try and grab a seat at the bar, if we didn't mind eating there- which we didn't. At first the bar was full, but after only about 5 minutes of waiting, 2 spots opened up. The bartenders worked tirelessly, not only getting drinks for bar partrons and the waitstaff, but also serving dinner to those guests, like ourselves, eating in the bar area. However, they never missed a beat and were very professional. Hubby ordered surf and turf, with the gorgonzola asparagus and new potatoes. I had the Bacon and Pecan encrusted redfish with a salad (try the house vinaigrette- so yummy!) and new potatoes. Both of us declared our meal the best we've had in a long time. Everything was cooked perfectly and delicious. Hubby tried the key lime pie for desert- said, again, it was the best he has had in a long time. Bill was around a $100- but both of us had a couple glasses of wine, so I think it is an excellent value. We will definitely go back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kkuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing