We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #2 of 219 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The place was crowded, but the food didn't live up to the recommendation we got at our hotel.
We went early to avoid a long wait. That worked, but it didn't make up for the service. They got my wife's order wrong, even though she was careful to be explicit. I ordered a second glass of wine and it showed up after we were finished eating. Not likely to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rrc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,089
    369
    104
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LA ROCHELLE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“overrated average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

oysters were not the freshes but ok.
Service slow
If you want fresh fresh drive on to Florida panhandel; Appalachicola.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KAESTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Was not worth the wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband loves oysters so we decided to visit here with our friends. We did not have a reservation and it was Saturday night. We were told there was a 30 minute wait for a table. This did not faze us as we had not seen our friends for a while so we went to the bar and had a drink while waiting for our table.
We were ushered downstairs and took our seats. This is where the trouble started. Our waitress came over to take our order and she was very rude. We did take a little while to make up our minds as we were visitors to the US but we certainly did not deserve the attitude she gave us. Everyone received their starters except me. When she delivered the main courses, she realised she had forgotten it and did not offer any apology. Just mentioned that is was probably a good thing I did not have one as my main was large. The meal (steak as I don't like seafood) was mediocre.
My husband who has eaten oysters all over the world mentioned that his were quite tasteless. Pity as he was really looking forward to eating oysters in Biloxi as he knows that there are some quite incredible tasting ones in this region. A huge let down. Our friends who live about 30 minutes from Biloxi were not impressed with this restaurant either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The service and food were equally amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to the Half Shell late on a weeknight after a long day on Ship Island. We were probably a bit under dressed but the staff didn't treat us like it. Our waiter, Anthony, was very personable and offered sincere advice in regards to the menu, not the usual waiter speak about how everything on the menu is the best ever. He made sure he got our order in ahead of a big party. The food, well I don't know if I'm articulate enough to really express how amazing our meal was. My sister went pretty simple with a chicken sandwich which she deemed the best she'd ever had. My other sister had the Royal Reds and they were succulent and sweet. My barbeque shrimp was better than any I've had and it's pretty much my go to order in the Gulf South area. Not even NOLA eating establishments have been as good. I did not have the cinnamon roll bread pudding but my sisters sang it's praises. The key lime pie was good. Not the best I've ever had, but very good. If you're in Biloxi make time for Half Shell, it's delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wo0PigSo0ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsdale, Alabama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great overall meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

the food was fabulous and great atmosphere and the service was good. the fried tomatoes and crab appetizer was really good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank charles b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing