We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Raw Oysters Around”

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 237 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Raw Oysters Around”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have eaten here before but this time we ate at the actual oyster bar downstairs where the shuckers are busy at their craft preparing the oysters for the guests in a variety of methods from raw to grilled to florentine to whatever. We enjoyed visiting with the shuckers as they quickly opened and prepared dozens and dozens of oyster at a fanatical pace. Kudos to these guys for a hard job well done. The staff was very friendly and the place was packed with guests including many locals which is always a good sign. We will back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,320
    433
    110
    38
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Oysters New Orleans”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stopped at 3 on a Sunday! We are going back for more tonight with friends. We will be dreaming of Oysters New Orleans all summer in wisconsin. Kevel is great. One of my favorite qualities in a chef is generosity!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the oyster sampler”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were only in Biloxi for 3 nights and we ate at the Half Shell twice. The Oysters Bienville were my favorite! The Bacon and Pecan Crusted Red Fish was delicious as were the Seafood Pasta and Shrimp and Grits. Bartenders Linda and Christi were awesome! This place is popular so be prepared for a wait. We were quoted an hour each night, but found seats at one of the two full-service bars instead both times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHolce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oysters oh my”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stopped in on a Friday afternoon during Super Bowl week. Had some excellent oysters on the half shell, some other dishes, washed down by some draught beers. Very pleasant and attentive service at the bar, pleasant informal surroundings in a former bank building. Very much recommended for some casual Gulf Coast seafood.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CasterUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice selection of food and adult beverages! The atmosphere is dark for dinner but is pretty noisy because it is very open. One of the many local seafood places that will not disappoint.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing