We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #2 of 220 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the blue crab cakes for an appetizer, fried shrimp and grilled mahi as entrees with key lime pie to finish off a wonderful dining experience. Drinks were $2 off during happy hour. Lynn provided outstanding service, Just a short walk from the Beau Rivage and the Hard Rock.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tcunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    354
    97
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent all around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Try the oysters! I had raw as well as the sampler broiled and they were all fabulous!! Service if large party was great as well. We were a group of 12 asking for a lot of food. Bloody Mary was a nice surprise as well

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annalfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paonia, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“grilled oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The best grilled oysters on the coast! When in MS this is one of our favorite spots. The service is always good, and we enjoy taking friends and family here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average seafood restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I ate dinner & both had the parmesan, dill flounder and were not impressed with out meals. Our waiter was good. My gumbo side was less than average.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traceplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fried Oysters TDF!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were on the prowl for oysters and hit the jackpot here. Oysters on the half shell were fresh and delicious but when it came to the fired Oysters.....heavenly! We still talk about them and having eaten many oysters in our life these rank at the top. Staff was friendly and had no problem when we requested to sit up stairs as it was a big gloomy on the first floor. We hope to return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing