We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much fixins fixin the fish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 223 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Too much fixins fixin the fish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We ate at the bar and enjoyed the excellent service and attention. The oysters were huge, a little too huge for my liking, but they were tasty. Kevil, our shucker, treated us to a sampling of his grilled oysters. Loaded up with butter, garlic , salt and unknown cajun seasonings. They went down well and stayed there 'til morning. It was one nasty gastric distress episode. The same can be said for our other selections, "Shrimp & Grits", "Seafood stuffed Portabello". Here it is more about the coverings (sauces) and additives than it is about the fish. My attitude is, if you enjoy good quality seafood why the need to disguise it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCCSTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    386
    105
    35
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS SEAFOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and atmosphere are both great. Try the Voodoo shrimp-outstanding! They also have great poboys.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
132 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Half Shell Oyster satisfied all six diners seeking great tasting seafood with oysters during a recent dinner. If you are seeking tasty oysters you must order the charbroiled oysters, go for the dozen you will not be disappointed. Simply prepared with fresh garlic and a light drizzle of white wine then magically charbroiled these huge, fresh, tasty oysters are worth a visit to Half Shell. If you do not like oysters, then order the tuna. My tuna was perfectly cooked to rare and the steak was so large I took about half of it home. I also ordered a side of the asparagus with cheese, it was good, just a little too much fat in the dish for me. We dined upstairs, the restaurant has character and personality. If you are over 50 you might need to use the flash light app on your phone to read the menu. I am looking forward to a return visit to Half Shell.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pegrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale fl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for lunch. Started with the appetizer of oysters. Best I ever had and so flavorful. We oredered the fried oysters, royal red shrimp, and shrimp n grits. Everything was great! The manager was extremely friendly and made sure the service was greatl We had the Bananas Foster Cheesecake for dessert and it was awesome! I would go back for sure. They have great quality food and the staff is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie7309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, Local, Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch - had half a dozen oysters on the half shell followed by royal red shrimp and fried boiled potatoes. Both were very fresh and delicious! Sat at the bar and had great service while watching the chefs cook. Will be back next time I am in Biloxi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing