We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“INCREDIBLE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #2 of 219 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ft lauderdale fl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for lunch. Started with the appetizer of oysters. Best I ever had and so flavorful. We oredered the fried oysters, royal red shrimp, and shrimp n grits. Everything was great! The manager was extremely friendly and made sure the service was greatl We had the Bananas Foster Cheesecake for dessert and it was awesome! I would go back for sure. They have great quality food and the staff is very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blondie7309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,022
    356
    97
    32
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, Local, Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch - had half a dozen oysters on the half shell followed by royal red shrimp and fried boiled potatoes. Both were very fresh and delicious! Sat at the bar and had great service while watching the chefs cook. Will be back next time I am in Biloxi.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Took my family here and we had a very good meal. The Char-broiled oysters, fresh oysters and deep water shrimp were excellent. The quality of the food was great, service was prompt and I thought good value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tullymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
239 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and waitress tries really hard to please but so much wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Came last summer and loved it enough to return while in area
The raw oysters are fresh and huge but the rest of the meal was average at best
Hubby had a very non traditional oysters rockerfeller . Little spinach or cheese
His gumbo was good
His crab cake had little crab, mostly bread
Food came out one plate at a time bc she "couldnt carry more than one thing" so we ate pretty much separately too
The bread was stale
The crab claws were teeny
Not worth going back

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Borroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stopped in for lunch traveling back home from New Orleans. The food was amazing! We shared the oyster sampler. Loved it! It came with a dozen half shell oysters prepared 4 different way. Our favorite was beinville. Then we split the Voodoo shrimp po-boy. It too was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahughes30034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing