We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant restaurant”

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellant restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We ate at the bar upstairs & had a great time.
Oysters were excellant & I had Pecan Crusted Grouper which was very tasty.
Service was very & we had a lot of fun with the bartender.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    441
    111
    38
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“One of the top local dining establishments”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've eaten here twice, and my wife and her extended family more times than that, and in every case the food and service have been top notch. Everything is well prepared and presented, and many dishes have a local and creative flair to them. On Friday and Saturday evenings you can expect a wait for a table if you're not there before 5:30PM or so; in a market where restaurants that aren't cutting it do indeed go out of business, this is your surest sign that the Half Shell is doing it right.

Today I took my wife here for a birthday Sunday brunch; we had the Fried Green Tomatoes and Crab Cakes appetizer, Gumbo, and for entrees we had Seafood Pasta and brunch Eggs Benedict. 5 stars says it all.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A mixed bag. Not a "couples place".”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Half Shell Oyster House is a mixed bag for me. We drive between Texas and Florida five times a year and love to try new places. When our favorite restaurant in Mobile could not offer us a Friday night reservation, I called HSOH. A wonderful hostess offered us call ahead priority and had no problem with my call ahead by seven hours. There was a large crowd waiting when we arrived 15 minutes ahead of our time chosen and we were seated about 25 minutes later. We were greeted by our waiter Ryan who was wonderful. I told him that I did not want an entire fried oyster platter so he offered a lunch menu portion, which was a perfect size. I ordered the oysters Bienville from the appetizer menu and my wife ordered the Fried green tomatoes and crab cake appetizer.

My oysters Bienville was fully cooked as I wanted (I had a similar item in the Keys that was raw on the bottom and cooked on top--yuck). My wife loved her appetizer but I thought her sauce was too mustardy. I agree however that the tomatoes were not sour like at other places. The fried oysters had a heavier batter than I would have liked (a lot like Couplands of New Orleans). The fried okra was and likely the cheese grits were not freshly made. The turnip greens had no surprises which I liked. (Some places mess around by cooking them with sugar or white wine.).

The venue was crowded and loud so I would not call it a couples place. The interior is quirky at best and the chairs and tables diner-like. There are no views and parking is a bit of a challenge. In all good but not great food, some but not a lot of imagination, at prices that were about right. There are much better restaurants in the area but I cannot say there is a better restaurant in Biloxi.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katygt919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in Biloxi”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had lunch here on our last day on the coast. Great food and excellent service! He had a dozen oysters on the half shell, and said they were some of the best he's ever had. We both had salads and the fresh catch of the day--grilled cobia. For a couple of dollars extra we had it topped with what they called a fried artichoke hearts salad. It was delicious! Laura was our server and was both friendly and efficient. With 2 glasses of wine for me and 2 beers for him, our bill came to $66, which seemed a little pricey--until we remembered that the dinner buffet at our casino the night before was almost $50--and almost inedible--we decided it was a very fair price for an incredible meal! We highly recommend the Half Shell and will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Oysters with large variety”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This restaurant has a large variety of oysters prepared in many different ways. The serving portions are big but my oyster dinner was deep fried and I hoped for sauteed. The turnip greens were bitter, but the grits and cheese was great. The oyster appetizer was great though. I suggest the oyster variety appetizer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing