We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but the food is lacking.”

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Gautier, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice place but the food is lacking.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I like the old renovated building and the great view. The music and acoustics prevented coherent conversation. Most of the staff is very friendly. We were disappointed with the food, though. The charbroiled oysters tasted okay but were very small just like at the Gulfport restaurant. But there is an oyster shortage so I'll leave that alone. My wife's shrimp and grits with Lazy Magolia bbq sauce sounded good. It wasn't. She only ate half and didn't want a to-go box. My Voodoo Shrimp poboy tasted pretty good but the shrimp were cold. This isn't a bad place but they have some improving to do before they can compete with all the good restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,351
    441
    111
    38
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great food and reasonable prices. I had the catch of the day which was speckled sea trout. Grilled with 2 sides for $16.00. My wife had the bbq shrimp with 2 sides for $18.00. 'Both were excellent, plus I had a bottle of O'douls for $3.00. Two beers, a glass of wine, and two excellent meals for $50.00. Hard to find these kind of prices where we live in Destin. We plan on going back on our next trip through Biloxi.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank btlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, fl
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy Oysters”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great plump gulf oysters. After raw they have 4 delicious hot styles.

try the sampler and then go back for your favorites. Also some good local draft beer.

Helpful?
2 Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The food was wonderful. The service was average, but not bad enough to distract from the meal. If you like spicy taste and a good martini, please try the Cajun Oyster martini it is a must try. The charbroiled oysters are the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSCC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like Oysters... you've been here already!”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Gooooooooooooood fooooooooooooooooood! Nestled in the heart of Biloxi this place raises the bar for good, fresh seafood!

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing