We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but the food is lacking.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Shell Oyster House

Half Shell Oyster House
Ranked #1 of 230 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
307 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice place but the food is lacking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I like the old renovated building and the great view. The music and acoustics prevented coherent conversation. Most of the staff is very friendly. We were disappointed with the food, though. The charbroiled oysters tasted okay but were very small just like at the Gulfport restaurant. But there is an oyster shortage so I'll leave that alone. My wife's shrimp and grits with Lazy Magolia bbq sauce sounded good. It wasn't. She only ate half and didn't want a to-go box. My Voodoo Shrimp poboy tasted pretty good but the shrimp were cold. This isn't a bad place but they have some improving to do before they can compete with all the good restaurants in town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,233
    417
    108
    35
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great food and reasonable prices. I had the catch of the day which was speckled sea trout. Grilled with 2 sides for $16.00. My wife had the bbq shrimp with 2 sides for $18.00. 'Both were excellent, plus I had a bottle of O'douls for $3.00. Two beers, a glass of wine, and two excellent meals for $50.00. Hard to find these kind of prices where we live in Destin. We plan on going back on our next trip through Biloxi.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank btlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, fl
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy Oysters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great plump gulf oysters. After raw they have 4 delicious hot styles.

try the sampler and then go back for your favorites. Also some good local draft beer.

Helpful?
2 Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

The food was wonderful. The service was average, but not bad enough to distract from the meal. If you like spicy taste and a good martini, please try the Cajun Oyster martini it is a must try. The charbroiled oysters are the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSCC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like Oysters... you've been here already!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Gooooooooooooood fooooooooooooooooood! Nestled in the heart of Biloxi this place raises the bar for good, fresh seafood!

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shell Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Half Shell Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing