We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood in an awesome venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
Ranked #4 of 230 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arley, AL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great seafood in an awesome venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Mary Mahoney's was recommended by a neighbor for good seafood,but we had no idea of the historic setting for such great food. Most seafood places are known for their great food, but most are lacking in atmosphere. This was a restaurant that seemed to be transplanted from the Garden District of New Orleans and the food was enhanced by the surroundings and service

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rushandjoannstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    223
    95
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food was delicious. The owner even gave us a Free DVD about the history of Mary Mahoney. We had a great time! If there were improvement to be made I would say that our waiter should have been trained more extensively. He was very nice and polite but seemed lacking in simple things like meal and drink knowledge. When I asked about the seafood platter and what did it include? He replied "you know shrimp and stuff". My husband and I laughed. He was young but he had not learned the menu. Our seat was by a kitchen door and there seemed to be a party in there because someone was always shouting and yelling. Sometimes it sounded like someone they were wrestling in there. This is not a big deal but if you are looking and paying for a romantic dinner with good atmosphere it can be distracting. Over all we enjoyed our meal very much, and we will be back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“The grand ole lady of gulf coast fine dinning ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Mary Mahoney's old French house is one of the last of the pre-casino fine dining establishments left in the game and for good reason. When the casinos came to town they revitalize the economy but had a devastating effect upon many of the fine dining establishments along the Mississippi Gulf Coast. Most of them simply could not compete with the subsidized buffets and food of the casinos. Mary Mahoney's is the exception. The food is Julie very very good in this service is almost always outstanding. Bobby Mahoney is almost always at the restaurant with his usual repertoire of jokes and comments to keep guests entertained. I usually get the Steifel a and the stuffed potato with a salad. And always get the bread pudding for dessert it is exceptional. However what Mary Mahoney's has which is the best that I've ever eaten is the marinated crab claws. Always get them with extra garlic. They are ridiculously good. For lunch I usually get the primer for the tuna steak depending on my appetite. And of course the bread pudding to eat or to go. They also have a very popular bar area where people often meet for a few drinks. And I am not a coffee drinker but many people that I know who are coffee drinkers or addicted to the coffee from there. It's in a beautiful old historic home directly across from the hard rock Casino and beau rivage. Apparently it is very crowded on the days when the top restaurants at Beau rivage to hard rock are closed as the send all their guests desiring fine dining to Mahoney's. However should be clear that this is a local restaurant owned by locals that is primarily supported by locals with tourist in the mix. If you want to taste full-time authentic Biloxi cooking and seafood then this really is about the only game left in town. It's about $10-$15 a head for lunch Angelique runs $20-$50 a head for dinner depending on the amount of wine you drink. You'll have a good time tell Bobby I said hello.

Helpful?
Thank Jackfish28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great old southern charm wit greats food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We have patronized this restaurant over the years and now I have moved away visit it from time to time. It still feels the same. Casual elegance, fresh (swimming 2 hours ago) and delicious seafood. Stuffed flounder, shrimp crab au gratin, fried soft shell crabs, sautéed crab claws. All exquisite in taste and preparation. Only negative is that the bread pudding, while very good, is not quite to the standards I have seen elsewhere. Nonetheless, a meal worthy of a special trip at any excuse

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great seafood in fabulous atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a local recommendation and a great one. We ate outside in a tranquil garden and the atmosphere was great! The weekday lunch prices are reasonable, about $15 per entree.

Helpful?
Thank Trish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing