We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome New Orleans style food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
Ranked #3 of 219 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome New Orleans style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great local food, This is a place I've eaten at since I was a child and the first place I take company when they come to visit,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nbolesmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    193
    82
    44
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Valley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch with the Patriarch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This restaurant is located in a beautiful old historic home. The ambience is wonderful. Food was very rich and very delicious. Our server was a little inexperienced, but I think this was the exception not the rule.The twice stuffed baked potatoes were out of this world!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One block away from the Beau Rivage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great food, classic setting. Lots of history. Locally obtained seafood. Steaks are great, too. Staff is appropriately attentive. Good wine list - even some good selections by the glass.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tcbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stopped for lunch at Mary Mahoney's across from the Beau Rivage. The restaurant is in a lovely old house dating from the 1700's. We were seated in the large, cheerful dining room lined with large windows. Dillon was our waiter and we enjoyed a bit of history and bantering back and forth with him. He was very attentive and gave recommendations on the lunch menu. My husband had the snapper stuffed with crabmeat & shrimp and crawfish étouffée served over pasta. The spiciness of the étouffée complimented the delicate flavor of the fish. Served with veggies, homade bread, salad & dessert it cost only $16. I enjoyed the crab cakes served over lump crabmeat sauce. My entree also included bread, veggies, salad & dessert. We both had the bread pudding which was deliciously light & fluffy and served with a rum sauce...for $13. We were both pleasantly surprised the food was delicious and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and be sure to ask for Dillon...he was a great waiter!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krnviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good special occasion spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Went here with the Mrs for Valentines Day---she got the fried oyster plate and I got soft shell crabs, both of which were great! Appetizer was their special snail offering, with a very different worchestershire based gravy instead of garlic butter---good but I like it the old way better.
The service was a little slow for a 6:30 seating....Key Lime pie and Mississippi Mud pie for take home dessert was just right!
A little more expensive than originally thought.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dustmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing