We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always a great choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
Ranked #3 of 227 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wednesday evening and good thing we made a reservation as the restaurant was packed at 6pm with a mix of locals, corporate types and vacationers. Third time here. Food and service always top-notch. Tip: Choose a dish of the 'featured dishes' section. It'll be a tough choice but you can't go wrong with any selection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank theotherdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    212
    91
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very charming restaurant in a beautiful historic home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went to Mary Mahony's restaraunt for our weekend getaway. We entered the vintage home where diners can eat in one of the beautifully decorated rooms. The owner welcomed us in and found a table in the former sun room.

Our server, Will, immediately took our drink order and sped back in a wink. After taking our order he returned with two salads with home made dressings. A had a delightful cup of gumbo that had plenty of seafood but not too spicy.

For our main course, I had the "seafood sisters" which was baked shrimp au gratin and baked crab au gratin in separate shell dishes. It was very rich and truly delicious. My wife had the grouper sautéed with lump crab meat. Both came with a side of asparagus.

Overall, the experience was excellent- friendly service and scrumptious food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Biloxi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Considering this area relies on casinos to attract revenue and has never fully recovered from H-Katrina, this restaurant was a very nice change to visit and taste some of the best Southern Cooking that fulfilled our Seafood cravings. We enjoyed the great broiled crab claws for appetizer and then our party indulged in Lobster tails, baked Flounder and the signature Shrimp and Lump Crabmeat Melba dish. The Pecan Pie A La Mode put us over the edge. Seeing some of the photos and articles on its wall, it's amazing how they managed to reopen just 62 days after the great storm. That's a desire to maintain its family tradition to serving good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
429 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always delicious and excellent service....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our 3rd time back at Mary Mahoney's in the same number of years. We wish we lived closer! Last night we just shared and enjoyed a large plate of broiled crab claws and a nice bottle of white wine. We topped that great combo off with a piece of delicious Key Lime pie. While not sounding like much, it was - although all the other dishes we saw coming out of the kitchen were mounded with food. Randall, our waiter, did an outstanding job of checking back with us and keeping our wine glasses near full. Great place, superb food and equally superb service - stop by and check MM's out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Desert the desserts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night we went to mary mahoney's for dessert only.

Charming restaurant and great service. Three of the four of us had dessert

The two who ordered the bread pudding were very disappointed with their dessert. Their signature dessert was lacking flavor and was very disappointing.

According to the third, her cheesecake tasted old, was gritty, dry and tasted old. It was also the smallest piece of cheesecake she had ever been served. That was good as she ate very little of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundaragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing