We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Always delicious and excellent service....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Mahoney's Old French House

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
Ranked #3 of 227 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
429 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always delicious and excellent service....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our 3rd time back at Mary Mahoney's in the same number of years. We wish we lived closer! Last night we just shared and enjoyed a large plate of broiled crab claws and a nice bottle of white wine. We topped that great combo off with a piece of delicious Key Lime pie. While not sounding like much, it was - although all the other dishes we saw coming out of the kitchen were mounded with food. Randall, our waiter, did an outstanding job of checking back with us and keeping our wine glasses near full. Great place, superb food and equally superb service - stop by and check MM's out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    212
    90
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Desert the desserts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night we went to mary mahoney's for dessert only.

Charming restaurant and great service. Three of the four of us had dessert

The two who ordered the bread pudding were very disappointed with their dessert. Their signature dessert was lacking flavor and was very disappointing.

According to the third, her cheesecake tasted old, was gritty, dry and tasted old. It was also the smallest piece of cheesecake she had ever been served. That was good as she ate very little of it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundaragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ahhhhmazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was such a pleasure to have dinner at Mary Mahoney's. We had a private room and the service was still amazing. I've traveled to the Gulf Coast many times, but never heard of this restaturant. Now, I can't wait to go back. The food was amazing. To be honest, I wanted to sample everyone's food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank msfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Grand Dame of Biloxi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A highlight of our recent Gulf trip, this is a venerable institution that everyone recommended. Our waiter Gabe surely loved his job and guided us through the menu. The stuffed snapper and the bread pudding were the stars; we even got a copy of the dessert recipe. Getting something lighter wasn't easy; the augratin and an ample slice of lemon meringue pie filled that bill. I came back the next day to photograph the lovely courtyard in daylight. Don't go to Biloxi without a visit, but don't try to eat cheap here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LauraJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the 'worst' restaurant ever, but not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I guess this restaurant was really something special back in the day, but the food these days just isn't good. My husband and I both found our main course (I had the chicken amandine, he had the shrimp) completely unseasoned, and our salads were swimming in something that sort of resembled italian dressing with...i'm guessing...cayenne pepper? The place is dated. The servers wear ill-fitted green jackets and bowties (our poor waiter's jackets was about 4 sizes too short for him) and the table looks like something out of saturday night fever (70's crystal and a bowl of pads of butter). Having said that, our waiter was excellent and polite, but sadly this was the only saving grace.
Biloxi isn't doing well these days, so we wanted to support the economy, but this restaurant will have to step it up a bit in order to secure it's reputation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 838Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing