We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should Have Bought a Bigger Dress Size”

Mary Mahoney's Old French House
Ranked #4 of 237 Restaurants in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ft Walton Beach FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Should Have Bought a Bigger Dress Size”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I ate at Mary Mahoney's on a Saturday evening in March. It seems that Biloxi has senior proms somewhat continuously between March and May, and Mary Mahoney's is a favorite place to go to impress dates (hence the title; yet I digress...). I take that as a very positive reflection on the establishment from the locals.
We ordered the top-rated dishes: we shared the "Presidential Platter" appetizer: $36 for crab claws and soft shell crabs, and though it sounds expensive, it was worth every penny. We were totally stuffed, and we couldn't finish it! My wife favored the cocktail sauce, but I thought that the tartar sauce was really delicious. We followed this exquisite appetizer with the "Shrimp and Lump Crabmeat St Patrick." Think of jumbo shrimp in an escargot pan covered in rue and crabmeat. It was very very very rich, and, honestly, we didn't enjoy it as much as we thought we would. Perhaps our wine pairing distracted (Saintsbury pinot noir, selected because of the rue), and so I would recommend a Chardonnay or Sauv Blanc).
The building dates back to 1737, which makes it one of the oldest buildings in the U.S. The owners have paid particular attention to the views from each of the tables. Given the frequency and ferocity of Gulf hurricanes (Katrina flooded the restaurant up to about 7 feet), it's remarkable that this building still stands. Because I live on the Gulf Coast I recommend that you take the opportunity to eat here while you still can...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank REEF_Surfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    234
    103
    50
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Interesting accomodations”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We traveled as a couple and had read reviews of Mary Mahoney's restaurant. We had dinner and were quite satisfied with the servings. They were quite large and since we were traveling we could not bag it. But the food was very good

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A place apart! Worth the whole trip!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After a disappointing trip thru New Orleans restaurants, this one made up for the rest. It was recommended by a friend who lives in the area and he knew what he was talking about. You enter a different world and have your choice of several different rooms ( each of which could be a separate restaurant) We dined in the back room which looks like a sunporch...very light and cheerful (we were there for lunch).. The service, by a waiter who had been there about 20 years, was wonderful...gracious and inviting. My husband had seafood salad which he thoroughly enjoyed. I had something called an Irish seafood something or other...(can't remember the name) but it was spectacular. Based on escargot, it was shrimp in garlic and butter over spinach with a cheese sauce... very different but yummy. No need for heavy spices to cover the fresh seafood and vegetables. - For desert a great bread pudding... Could have stayed all afternoon if we werent driving long distances It was comfortable and old south dining at its best. We would be here often if we lived there... Definitely worth a trip...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stealtherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howelldw
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just a short walk from the Beau. Wonderful food and environment. They are open for lunch and supper. Much better than the casino's food. Call ahead for seating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank howelldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
224 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, superb”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We traveled to Biloxi for our 32nd anniversary which is also on Valentine's Day. My husband had been stationed there years before I met him and he wanted to show me some of his past. He selected Mary Mahoney's just by luck. It was incredible. The food was sensational. We both chose fish items and enjoyed every morsel. The service was almost the best service we have ever received in any restaurant. Frederick was our waiter. He was efficient, attentive, personable and a pleasure for us. Frederick and my husband were in the military at the same time - my husband in the USAF and Frederick in the Czech army during the Cuban Missile Crisis in 1962. It was the first time my husband had ever shared his experiences with a military person "on the other side." This only helped to make this evening a more memorable experience. The restaurant alone was most satisfying. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any one who desires a sensational meal. Don't let the Irish sounding name with the French twist intimidate you. The food is primarily American and the specialty is fish. The only slight problem we encountered was immediately upon arrival. There seemed to be some confusion by the staff on who would sit where. There seemed to be a little temper shown on the part of the staff but it was settled and we went on and forgot about this. Just wish we had not been party to this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Mahoney's Old French House also viewed

 

Been to Mary Mahoney's Old French House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing