We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Casino”

Casino at Harrah's Gulf Coast
Ranked #13 of 57 things to do in Biloxi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 106,300-square-foot casino offers slot machines, a variety of table games, poker and video poker.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Grand Casino”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Grand Casino is one of the smaller casinos on the coast. It is built very strange. The entrance to the casino is through the third floor parking lot. It is very smokey on a busy weekend night. The rewards club is weak in comparison to the other casinos. The staff is very friendly from the valet to the people on the gaming floor. The buffet was pretty good and offers boiled shrimp and crab legs. Customer service was outstanding and that is why I give it four stars. The cruzan bar is nice and on the weekends they have live bands. I liked the bar but it is right on the gaming floor so when I snapped a picture of the band security came out and told me not to take photos which was disapponting. All in all most of these casinos are the same only a couple on our coast truely stick out. Customer service always goes a long way though.

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    133
    130
    37
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't get lost in this extremely small casino”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'd never been to Biloxi before, decided to try this property as it is part of Caesar's. It appears that the casino is actually in what must have been a banquet room in the hotel prior to Katrina. It's so small, my boyfriend never had a problem finding me! Slots are very tight and the volume on almost all machines is set to the highest level, I'm assuming to make it appear as if more than 20 people are in there! Not what I expected from a Caesar's property, very dissappointing, good thing other casino's were in the area.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sneaky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not the same after hurricane Katrina”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've stayed at the Grand many times, both pre and post Katrina. The current casino is showing its age.

The rooms need updating, especially the bathrooms.

Food choices are limited to their buffet, snack bar, and LB's Steakhouse. If you enjoyed LB's pre-Katrina, you can forget about it. The current LB's is located off the lobby/snack bar area in what is a less than intimate setting. The steaks and sides are also not the same -- probably due to cheaper cuts of meat and a grill that doesn't get ripping hot like the old LB's.

The only pool is outdoors on a desk overlooking highway 90.

The casino is almost totally slots, and very smokey. They do have 3 small pit areas for table games, but they're never all opened. About the only plus is that the casino bar will serve you free drinks (you don't need to be playing video poker or slots) and if you play just a few bucks on their table games with your players card they'll send you all sorts of coupons for free nights, free table play, free slot play, and free giveaways for months to come.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank alpha1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“easy access, friendly people, good odds, clean area”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It definitely is not the largest casino on the gulf, but I happily accept that for the ease of access. IF YOU DRIVE TO THE 3RD FLOOR OF THE SELF PARKING GARAGE and park in the handicap area, as I have to, it is approx 60' to the inside of the casino. There are rest rooms immediately to the left, and the players club and cashier are a few feet to the right as well as the buffet area. Walking west, there are table games down the middle of the room and there is a large bar area with 2 or 3 bartenders. The high limit slot area is to your left and a choice of stairs or ramp will take you to another area of slots and gaming tables. Ther are at least six ticket redemption/atm machines srategicaly located in the casino. Slots range from classic to modern. Some machines are looser than others.

As usual the waitresses have assigned areas, but it seems to me that there territories are smaller than most casinos allowing for better service. Friendliness exudes from all staff including floor supers and security personnel.

Steve C.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This Was the WORST Casino of Them All”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Of all the casinos down Beach Blvd we visited, this one was the worst. I called it the Grand Flop. It had the oldest slots ever and I really couldn't find one thing nice to say about it. With so many other choices in the area, just avoid this one, it is not worth a stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelReviewsByAlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino at Harrah's Gulf Coast also viewed

 

Been to Casino at Harrah's Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing