We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Architecture”

Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art
Ranked #17 of 57 things to do in Biloxi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to enjoy all that makes our museum unique: the artists, the architecture, the history, and the landscape. The Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art celebrates the innovative, independent and creative spirit of our namesake Mississippi master potter George Ohr. In a fitting tribute to Ohr, artist and architect Frank Gehry designed an award winning campus of bold intriguing self sufficient structures. The campus consists of our Mississippi Sound Welcome Center, three art galleries, the reconstructed home of Pleasant Reed, and our City of Biloxi Center for Ceramics. These buildings and the exhibits therein offer visitors separate but not isolated experiences - together creating a single unified vision connected by the expansive brick plaza and the majestic Live Oaks.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The buildings are uniguely designed by the designer of the Gugenhiem Museum. The artworks fit well with the design. Overall a very worth while experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    41
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach MS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique buildings, and art work.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clever layout remarkable art works, a worth while visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ADWLongBeachMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great treat!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I truly enjoyed the museum. In my opinion, it so much nicer once you are on the beautiful, relaxing property.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan39564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I didn't pay the extra money for the guided tour, but the volunteer wouldn't stop guiding us. It could have been nice had we been left alone long enough to observe the exhibits on our own.

They hi-jacked us as soon as we paid our $10 to tell us their spiel about how amazing everything is. We felt rushed by their volunteer.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Reggiebiloxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mad About the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed our visit to the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art. The groundbreaking work of George Ohr (also known as "The Mad Potter of Biloxi") is right at home in the beautiful Star Gallery. The other artists featured changes throughout the year. When we visited in May 2012, the Mott-Warsh Collection of African-American Art was featured along with a collection of pottery (Newcomb College, Shearwater, and Anderson) that included depictions of coastal life, sea, water, and sky. Another treat was the Pleasant Reed Interpretive Center which also featured an exhibit on soldiers of African American ancestry stationed at Ship Island off the MS Gulf Coast during the Civil War. This exhibit features the poetry of Mississippi native Natasha Tretheway who was recently named U.S. Poet Laureate. The gift shop has a great selection of books on Ohr and the MS Gulf Coast. It includes reasonably priced locally made products (lots of pottery selections under $30, vegan Eau d'Ohr Soap, and handmade jewelry). The City of Biloxi Center for Ceramics opens this summer at the museum and in 2013 yet another gallery opens at the museum. While an art lover could spend hours at this center, anyone who likes history would also enjoy a visit to the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum. The center does a good job of tying the art to the history of the Gulf Coast. The staffpersons were all very friendly and open to answering questions. They filled us in on coming exhibits and gave us advice on other places we should visit in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinOnTheOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing