We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beauvoir

Beauvoir
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of Ex-Confederate President of the Confederate States of America where he lived his remaining 12 years of his life (post-war) and where he wrote "The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government." Golf Carts are now available to rent. Guided tour of the home showing how life was lived by the President and his family and self guided grounds (Varina's Garden, Cemetery, and nature trail), Museum, separated into 3 sections: Rotating Gallery, Soldier's Exhibit, and President Davis Exhibit. Research Library including reference books to accommodate most genealogy research focused on the Civil War.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beauvoir was a nice detour from the usual beach activities. My husband is a civil war buff, so I was kind of reluctant about this but decided to anyway. I'm so very glad I did!! It was a great activity! The museum was nice. The guided house tour was great with interesting facts and humor sprinkled throughout. The house is beautiful. The grounds are well-kept and the view from the front porch overlooking the ocean is spectacular. Beautiful!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    230
    63
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a great tour guide who was very informative. He also had a wonderful sense of humor. It was approx 30 minutes long or so and enjoyed the history of the place. The teens with me loved it and thought it was pretty cool. Definitely a must see and do...beautiful beautiful beautiful

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
375 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Beware of the Interpretation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Beauvoir, the retirement home of Jefferson Davis, is a beautiful structure, lovingly restored after Hurricane Katrina and beautifully furnished. The new "presidential library" is palatial but as of now contains only a large theater showing several good films (although why we saw ten minutes on Davis's camel experiment in the antebellum West is a little mystifying) and a semi-schlokey gift shop--no exhibits yet although they are coming we are told.

The house is by guided tour and ours was pretty abysmal. The guide started out with, as we feared, the neo-Confederate assertion that the Civil War was not about slavery and a remarkable fable suggesting that on the eve of the Civil War Northern states had a great deal of slavery as well.

Once inside the mansion, the tour was almost exclusively a furniture tour--this piece had this function; that piece belonged to the Davis family; etc. We learned very little about Davis the man, his occupancy, his legacy, etc.

So, the home itself is very nicely done but don't expect to learn much about Jefferson Davis from the tour and beware of what history you are told!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An 1852 house-withstood hurricanes Camille and Katrina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Maybe it was the "luck of the draw"-my guide was excellent. He gave the history of the house from its construction in1852 up through the restoration after Hurricane Katrina, pointing out architectural details, incidents in the lives of past inhabitants, and the history of the beach itself which incidentally was manmade by the Corps of Engineers in the mid-1940's. The house would be a place to visit even if Jeff Davis had never lived there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelsaturning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful after Katrina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visit at least once a year. Love the old homestead. Now they are restoring the grounds with rose garden, herb garden, and vegtable garden.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauvoir also viewed

 

Been to Beauvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing