We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terric historical house tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beauvoir

Beauvoir
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Biloxi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of Ex-Confederate President of the Confederate States of America where he lived his remaining 12 years of his life (post-war) and where he wrote "The Rise and Fall of the Confederate Government." Golf Carts are now available to rent. Guided tour of the home showing how life was lived by the President and his family and self guided grounds (Varina's Garden, Cemetery, and nature trail), Museum, separated into 3 sections: Rotating Gallery, Soldier's Exhibit, and President Davis Exhibit. Research Library including reference books to accommodate most genealogy research focused on the Civil War.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Terric historical house tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stumbled upon Jefferson Davis' final home in Biloxi. What made the tour special was the very knowledgeable tour guide who explained the history and details of the home over time. She explained how Katrina affected the house and the painstaking renovation that followed. The ceiling is beautifully painted. Despite Katrina's impact at least 70 % of the furnishings are original.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CeadmileJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    230
    63
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great piece of history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our AAA tourbook listed this tour as a "gem" so my wife demanded we go visit. We stopped by at 3:30 on a Saturday afternoon and were told the final tour would begin on the front porch at 4:00 sharp. We poked around in the tiny gift shops prior to visiting the grounds and the main house. So much has been masterfully restored after the destruction of Katrina you might wonder how much damage had been done, if not for the pictures.

The tour guide was spectacular - regaling us with history and family facts about Jefferson Davis and his life at Beauvoir. The place has immaculately maintained and restored and we were glad to made a contribution to the ongoing effort.

The entire tour was just right at about 45 minutes - with plenty of extra to wander the grounds to see other unique features of property. The fall opening of the library museum will certainly make this venue a must see for any visitors to the Biloxi/Gulfport area.

Very glad we made this stop!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The part of the home we saw was very nice and the greeters were very knowledgeble. Did not stay for the whole thing as it was too hot inside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JerryRandi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the history but let us look !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The history of Jefferson Davis and the Confederacy is there but you are so restricted in your movement in the main house and the two side houses , I felt cheated . The house itself was awesome and the restoration after Katrina was worth the visit . Maybe more will be available seen when the library opens .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great historical spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed the history behind the house and the tour was fantastic. The remodeling post Katrina is nice. Great price. A must for any visitor to Biloxi area.

Helpful?
Thank cabledawg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beauvoir also viewed

 

Been to Beauvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing