We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Hard to become Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This was our 1st time back to the Coast since Katrina and we weren't sure what to expect but the Hollywood Casino (formerly Casino Magic) is working hard to get the area back to it's former stature. Check in was prompt and the room was clean with a nice view of the Jordan river (and what was left of the old casino, which is an indication of the devastation that occurred). The staff was very helpful and friendly and really wanted us to know that they appreciated us coming to their area, not just their hotel. It seemed that the owners were in a wait and see approach as to how much capital to spend on the property to attract gamblers and guests. The actual casino seemed smaller than what was there before the storm but the variety of games was great. The advantage of the smaller casino was that there were always open tables and machines open for play. The restaurants were very reasonably priced and the staff at these were also great, particularly Terry, the bartender at Tuscany. The fried green tomatoes and Creme Brulee were big hits as we sat at the bar.

Another highlight was the performance put on by Pete Fountain, a resident of the area, and his band in the auditorium. It was wonderful to hear traditional New Orleans music in an intimate venue. We are well under 50 and would highly recommend that anyone that loves music be sure not to miss this opportunity to hear a legend. We also had the privilege of shaking his hand after his show.

We also enjoyed the Shaker's martini bar located off the lobby. Mark, the bartender, not only mixed delicious martinis such as the "Scarlett O'Hara" and the "Frank Sinatra", but also gave us great tips on restaurants off the property. A trip to the beaches, shops, restaurants and art galleries of Bay St. Louis is a must. The town continues to work to get back on its feet after Katrina, and deserves your patronage when in the area. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously during our day and evening trips to their town.

The golf course that is part of the property was a solid trek that had no major flaws, just lots of water (this is the coast after all) and the rates were reasonable with a discount for hotel guests.

Two minor complaints-the pillows on the bed were too small, and the cabana bar at the pool was never open during the week.

We highly recommend this hotel for its service and location but also because it will help a region badly in need of revenue. Well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea&Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 275 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

I stayed there recently for business. I am not a gambler, so would not have chosen this hotel, except that hotels in the area are limited due to Katrina. I appreciated the separate entrance, so I did not have to go through the casino. However, the cigarette smoke in the lobby was very thick and I am highly allergic. I had to cover my nose every time I went in and out.

The room itself was very comfortable and I had absolutely no complaints about it.

In addition to the in-house restaurant and room service, there is a snack bar near the elevators so guests can purchase light meals without the expense of room service.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2007

First the problems:
1) The elevators were often out of service--sometimes all three of them--requiring guests to walk up as many as 11 flights of stairs, sometimes carrying luggage. The management managed to restore one of the elevators quickly, but it's not unlikely that the problem could recur--apparently due to a lack of parts.
2) There are relatively few non-smoking rooms--perhaps based on the assumption that most users of the casino are smokers. I had reserved a non-smoking room, but was told that none were available when I arrived. However, the management very quickly gave the room an ozone cleaning, which did help considerably.
3) The walls are thin. I could hear everything going on in the room next door.

Otherwise, I enjoyed my stay. There are gorgeous views of the area from the upper floors. The epic buffet is quite splendid, and it's half price on Wednesdays for anyone over 50. The staff was always courteous.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Folklorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Started at check in: Very unfriendly desk person. Room nice but "cheap". Casino had poor service, poor selection of slot machines. Too cold most of the time.

Worst of all we were woken up with the sounds of jackhammers a floor below us at 6:30 AM, that's right in the morning.

No one told us there would be construction.

The front desk manager was extremely rude, and refused to summon a higher manager to hear our complaint.

Three weeks after we got home, we get a bill for a broken chair that was broken but not by us.

HORRIBLE, stay away.

Try the Grand, Hard Rock, or Beau Rivage, stayed in all of them and they are great.

We love the Mississippi Gulf Coast and go 4 to 6 times a year.

We use to love the old Casino Magic people and are so sad they were bought out.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank wsan3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We stayed at this casino hotel on Sunday night and Monday night. We are not casino aficionados but a room at this hotel was a great value. The check-in was friendly, fast and efficient. There is no pressure to use the valet parking, it is made available, but the self-park is free and easy. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but they looked nice enough.

The room was one of the cleanest and nicest rooms we have had in the southeastern U.S. The internet connection was free and worked well (bring a cable it was not wireless).

We had dinner at the Tuscany restaurant – the service was very good as was the food, however the shrimp in the shrimp cocktail was less than fresh; unusual considering the location is on the gulf coast. Other than that, the only way the facility could be better is if it were smoke-free and that is obviously not going to happen!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dave62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hollywood Casino. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly, and the buffet is the best buffet along the coast. There is an endless choice of seafood and desserts as well as other dishes from which to choose. It has definitely become our favorite casino.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dubroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Hotel is beautifully managed, buffet was exceptional, staff were courteous. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank brettsrn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
155 reviews
7.9 mi away
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
17 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Diamondhead
73 reviews
14.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
25.0 mi away
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast

Address: 711 Hollywood Blvd, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520-1808
Location: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range: $82 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay at Hollywood Casino Gulf Coast in Bay St Louis, you'll be convenient to 100 Men D.B.A. Hall and Bay St. Louis Little Theater. This casino hotel is within close proximity of Historic L and N Train Depot and Saint Stanislaus College. Make yourself at home in one of the 291 air-conditioned guestrooms. Cable television is provided for your entertainment. Bathrooms have complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Conveniences include desks and coffee/tea makers, and housekeeping is provided daily. While the golfer in the family is out on the course, try one of the other recreational amenities offered, such as a casino, lazy river and outdoor pool. Additional features include complimentary wireless Internet access and gift shops/newsstands. Satisfy your appetite at the hotel's restaurants,serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, or grab a snack at a coffee shop/cafe. Quench your thirst with your favorite drink at a bar/lounge. Featured amenities include complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, express check-out, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Event facilities at this hotel consist of conference space and meeting rooms. Free valet parking is available onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Casino Bay St. Louis Hotel Bay Saint Louis
Hollywood Hotel Bay St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing