We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Good as My Last Visits”
Review of El Maguey

El Maguey
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
790 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Not as Good as My Last Visits”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Service was great and the meals were fine. My main complaint was that the chips tasted like they had been fried in old shortening. They brought new chips that were supposed to have been fried in new shortening but they still tasted slightly rancid. Our server said folks at another table noted the same thing. We had to leave the chips untouched! I will have to say they are very, very generous with the sour cream that accompanies their dishes. I usually don't get enough but they served more than enough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by after church. Clean and fun atmosphere. Lots of charm. Staff was friendly and food was served quickly. Mix of Mexican, Carribean and Tex-mex in one place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Used to be much better. Go to La Chula instead.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A long time ago, El Maguey was formerly Los Tres Amigos, and it was one of the best restaurants in town, period. A few years back, the restaurant seemed to be not as busy, and the quality of the food and service went way down. A fresh coat of paint and a name change, and El Maguey was born - but the service and food is still quite poor. My last visit, the cheese sauce for chips was excellent and the drinks were very good, but the actual food itself was cold and largely flavorless, and it took quite a while to receive despite the restaurant being fairly empty.

I will say, the interior of the restaurant is really very nice - they did an exceptional job there. It's been a long time since we've visited, and I can't see us ever going back with all of the other quality options in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank striker1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Ms.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One Of my Favorite Mexican Restaurants”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am not a big fan of Mexican restaurants. Most give you low quality dog meat with inedible sauce and cheap cheese. The refried beans are usually soup. El Maguey is a rare exception. The hamburger used is tasty and the refried beans actually are quite good. Prices are also very affordable so go gringo !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stokjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay St. Louis, MS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just don't get the fajitas (greasy)!!!! Friday nights are a great time to go if you like margaritas. My husband and I eat off of the Chef's menu lately. The food has been getting better over the last few months.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank klerouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Maguey also viewed

Bay Saint Louis, MS
Bay Saint Louis, MS
 
Bay Saint Louis, MS
 
Bay Saint Louis, MS
 

Been to El Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing