We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carroll House Bed and Breakfast
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Conveniently Cozy”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Located near the beach along the water, the B&B is cozy with a very attentive hostess. The Carroll House is ran by a middle aged couple, who are energized and are able to upkeep the property. The rooms each have special characteristics that cater to different accommodations: couples, small families, etc. The breakfast is simple but hearty. The hostess is very attentive and provides a very homey feeling when staying there. The only bummer is that I forgot a piece of clothing there and they confirmed they found it and they would send it...my credit card was never charged...I never received it. Other than that, I would return for a quick drive down I-10 and it's convenient coziness to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buoywin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tickfaw, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The B&B is in the tourist side of town across from a vacant lot in a residential neighborhood. Not much to look at from the outside, but a quaint little place indeed. Nice, clean rooms with plenty of antiques, etc. We stayed in the Sunshine room and it was quite nice.
Breakfast was very very good and Jane was a good hostess. We met four sisters that were having a family reunion of sorts, they were great to talk with.
Unfortunately for us, the central heat went out on our half of the house the night we were staying and it got down into the low 30's. You know that there is no insulation in these old houses. It was also very windy the night we stayed and the loose shutters banging on the side of the house kept us up all night long.
So, our pleasant experience turned into somewhat of an unpleasant one. But, that's life.

I guess what disappointed me more that anything else is their was no apologies from the owners for anything. They got their money and that's it.

Wam bam no thank you mam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmg70466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane a, Owner at Carroll House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are so sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay, we strive to make each guest experience a wonderful one. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the loss of heat until the next morning, when we promptly provided the guest with a space heater while we investigated the problem. The heat was restored in less than an hour and we apologized several times for the inconvenience. The heat in the other part of the house was still working and supplied some heat to this part of the house as well.
Also, we had a very bad storm that night with severe winds, unfortunately there isn't much we can do about that.
Again, we sincerely regret that this guest did not enjoy their stay, we appreciate any and all feedback as it helps us provide the best experience possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Our experience at the Carroll House was wonderful. Stay here if you enjoy delicious home cooked breakfasts and beautiful old homes. We stayed three nights in the Sunset Room and were quite comfortable. We arrived very late due to bad weather but that was not a problem with our hosts Jane and Kevin. The house is walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. We were in Bay St. Louis visiting family and look forward to a return stay at the Carroll House.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank KJOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a hidden treasure......wonderful in every way.....everyone should be blessed to stay here at least once in a lifetime...loved the SunSet room and breakfast was oh so yummy...looking forward to our next stay.......patti & Wilson from Texas....

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or fitness center.....I was giving everything an excellent mark.....but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 236Patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is my third trip here. I come down from San Diego each Thanksgiving to see my Daughter and Grandsons. I stay at Carroll House because it is two blocks from them and more importantly, I stay because of the hospitality of Jane and Kevin. Its like home away from home. I will be going back next Thanksgiving as well. I enjoy their wonderful breakfasts. I stay in the Sunshine Room which is perfect for me. Looking forward to future visits

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children , I would recommend the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dukeofearl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great place - lovely home and room. We were in the Sunset Room and it was great - huge comfy bed, big bathroom. Really nice. Jane and Kevin were great hosts - coming over to drop us a key, making breakfast, snacks in the evening. All in all a great place, we'll definitely be going back to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Not knowing anything about Bay St Louis, what a find it was on the internet! My husband found the Carroll House B n B and it satisfied our needs perfectly (it was dog friendly). That is our number one criteria when traveling so this worked out great. We rented the cottage (behind the main house) for 9 nights and were very satisfied. It's location is ideal and the owners allowed us to bring our trailer (with 2 dirt bikes and 2 bicycles) and there was enough space to park without bothering the other visitors. The breakfast was always consistent and very good..a great way to begin each day! The town, shops and restaurants in the area were excellent and never had a bad meal. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The cottage was perfect for someone who was staying for more than a night or two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
139 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
2.0 mi away
Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
15.4 mi away
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
7.7 mi away
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Carroll House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 304 Carroll Ave, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520-4406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed yet luxurious atmosphere of the beautifully restored historic home. Located in the heart of Historic Old Town Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, 2 blocks from the Gulf of Mexico. Stroll just 2 blocks to the beach, or to our quaint down town for Antique shopping, fine dining or just browsing. A 5 minute drive will take you to the Hollywood Casino for some excitement. Fishing Charters and Island excursions available for the adaventurers. If relaxing is your pleasure, enjoy our beautiful gardens, sip tea on the back porch, or swing on the front porch, whatever you enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carroll House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing