We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect anniversary / ANYTIME getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carroll House Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our 22nd anniversary! We've stayed at a lot of B & B's over the years, and the Carroll House is one of the very few that met all of our search criteria.

Historic, very comfortable, incredible breakfast, 3-minute walk to shops and very good restaurants, quiet, and an incredible owner-operator-chef-concierge-host!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This B&B certainly does have some positives, including an attractive house with grounds and gardens set back off the street, comfortable bed, clean room, screened-in porch, and pleasant owner. We were looking forward to staying overnight at a B&B after many nights staying at chain motels. But we were rather disappointed with Carroll House and would not stay there again. At $130 a night including tax, we did not consider it a good value, because of some negatives. Soon after we got there, we smelled cigarette smoke drifting under the locked door we shared with an adjoining room. To avoid stinking up our belongings we moved them into the spacious bathroom, as far as possible from the smoke. We did not have an opportunity to talk to the manager about this issue. (The guest welcome book in the room said nothing about smoking policy, nor does their website. We did see one cigarette tray on the porch.) A big gap under the hallway door let in lots of light. Both of us wore sleep masks to get a good night’s sleep. Hot breakfast was good with a fresh fruit platter, delicious orange-flavored French toast, bacon (which we had declined in advance), and good orange juice. But unlike other B&Bs we’ve stayed at, there were no cold items (cereal etc.) set out then. (The guest book stated that a continental breakfast would be available an hour later for guests who weren’t served the hot breakfast.) We’re hearty breakfast eaters, so we found this aspect disappointing. We didn’t feel comfortable asking for more food. Several guests we met at breakfast had stayed at this B&B before and obviously enjoyed it. One vacationing couple was making a return visit with their dog to this pet-friendly B&B and were staying in a separate cottage. From Trip Advisor reviews this B&B might well be the best option for lodging in Bay St. Louis

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank oldbrdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane a, Owner at Carroll House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

We appreciate you comments. We do have a strict No Smoking Policy in the house. We were not aware that anyone smoked inside. We try not to put up lots of signage in the house to avoid the 'institutional' feel but perhaps a few 'No Smoking' signs would be in order. Thank you for pointing this out. We strive to make each and every guests experience a wonderful one. We take pride in making our guests feel at home and comfortabl enough to approach us with any issue. Constructive criticism is as welcome as praise at The Carroll House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a great stay 2 night stay in the garden cottage. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts very welcoming. The small town is delightful. We rented bikes nearby and toured the town all day. Hit the beach and local eatery for lunch. Would love to go back for a longer stay. Make sure you check out the 100 Men Hall. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed at the Carroll House BnB in May 2013 and would recommend it to anyone. Easy access to small town amenities, beautifully outfitted center-hall cottage, friendly and helpful hosts, delicious breakfasts. Excellent all around I would say!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just spent a week in the cottage. Perfect accommodations for a longer stay. I became spoiled walking into a full course, delicious breakfast every morning. Location is ideal to enjoy Old Towne Bay St. Louis. We bicycled everywhere - down the beach, across the Bay Bridge to Pass Christian, to restaurants, to church, shopping. Area is very bicycle friendly. Many coffee shops and restaurants to choose from nearby. We were able to enjoy a different one every day. Local people are very friendly, just like the owners. We hope to return. (internet reception was spotty, so if you need it for work, you may not be able to rely on it. But, the owners were seeking ways to improve it)

Room Tip: For a longer stay, the cottage may be the way to go. It has a fully furnished kitchen and washer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The Gulf coast's high season is summer time, but spring and fall are beautiful and less crowded. We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay this week in the master bedroom of the Carroll House, handsomely restored since 2005 by its new owners, who live next-door. They provided a delicious breakfast, asking in advance if we had any food allergies, etc., and offered excellent suggestions for lunch and dinner in town and activities on water and land. It is indeed the best place to stay in Bay Saint Louis for anyone looking for local charm!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGH44Washington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing place to getaway for the weekend with our little dog, Daisy and the Carroll House was the perfect location. It is just a couple of blocks from the beach and the center of town. Our hosts were kind, accommodating, and informative. They were available for all of our questions and needs. They have a nice little fenced in yard in the back where we were able to let our dog run around without concern that she might walk herself to the beach or some other parts unknown. We also enjoyed the artwork around the house; beautiful paintings and photographs, most created by the innkeeper herself, nice work Jane. Breakfast was delicious and homemade, we really enjoyed dining with the other guests and sharing in their conversations. Book your room now...go and relax!

Room Tip: We traveled with our dog and found the master suite a good choice for our situation. The master sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bay Saint Louis
2 mi away
Hollywood Casino & Hotel Gulf Coast
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
Super 8 Bay St. Louis
#1 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Guest House at Gulfport Landing
7.7 mi away
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
Silver Slipper Casino Hotel
#3 of 4 in Bay Saint Louis
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Town Inn Bed & Breakfast
Bay Town Inn Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Bay Saint Louis
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 304 Carroll Ave, Bay Saint Louis, MS 39520-4406
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Bay Saint Louis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bay Saint Louis
Price Range: $97 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the relaxed yet luxurious atmosphere of the beautifully restored historic home. Located in the heart of Historic Old Town Bay St. Louis, Mississippi, 2 blocks from the Gulf of Mexico. Stroll just 2 blocks to the beach, or to our quaint down town for Antique shopping, fine dining or just browsing. A 5 minute drive will take you to the Hollywood Casino for some excitement. Fishing Charters and Island excursions available for the adaventurers. If relaxing is your pleasure, enjoy our beautiful gardens, sip tea on the back porch, or swing on the front porch, whatever you enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carroll House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing