We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$101
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
steventoh
Singapore, Singapore

Perfect stay & Amazing manta πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 4, 2019via mobile
+
We had an amazing time at Aveyla. The staff (May Gapate & Sidey) were super hospitable and very accomodating. The hotel itself is located bang on the marvellous Dharavandoo island beach,thereby affording a fantastic view of the beach and sea front. Very clean rooms and good food. This place is highly recommended for a memorable Maldives holiday.

-
room light a bit dark for me, but kinda romantic πŸ˜‚
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$64
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.4 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Restaurant
Booking.com
$127
$106
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $127
0.0 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Booking.com
$116
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $62
0.5 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $175
  • Agoda.com
    $82
  • Booking.com
    $133
0.1 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $61
  • Booking.com
    $68
0.0 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $18
0.2 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $51
  • Hotels.com
    $50
  • Booking.com
    $50
0.4 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $35
  • Booking.com
    $53
0.2 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
    $67
  • Agoda.com
    $32
  • Expedia.com
    $67
0.4 miles from Aveyla Manta Village
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Dharavandhoo
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
168
36
4
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
168
36
4
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manta rays hanifaru bay local island beach front baa atoll dive instructor snorkeling experience good vibes unforgettable experience take pictures dream come true five star resort great dive free island lounge chairs the wi fi sea life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 218 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2019 via mobile

Things to be aware of:

*Room/ Bathroom: Extremely small, smelly, moldy, grimy, and dark.

*Beach area: Small, only hard packed sand with rocks on the shore, not good for lounging.

*Front desk staff: Rarely at the desk or working and rude.

*Fine Print/ cancellation policy: Make sure you read the find print and they keep reservation.

*Misleading advertising: faked out photos and using creative videos

This hotel has horribly small claustrophobic rooms and bathrooms which feel grimy and tiny. For example, the bathroom door blocks the sink so you have to close the door to even get to the sink and the door almost hits the toilet. All the toilet seats are a way smaller size then the actual toilet. The room is barely large enough for the bed. The rooms on the ground floor have extremely low ceilings.

The rooms at Ayvela Manta Village are absolutely not acceptable. So bad to the point that even after we paid for the entire stay we decided to leave and pay for another hotel.

Do not be fooled by their tricky advertising with photos and drone videos of their courtyard, lobby, hallways, and beach. When you are actually on the island you realize their beach area is really small without soft sand that leads into the sea. They have a drone video that starts at the hotel entrance from the beach then it quickly pans out to focus on beaches that belong to other hotels.

This hotel will lead you to believe it is on a nice beach but actually only has a small area that does not have soft sand or ideal for lounging/ enjoying the beach. I watched their hotel guests walk to public beach because their own hotel does not have a nice beach area. So don't be fooled with faked out photos or advertising.

I would never recommend this hotel. I feel completely tricked by the pictures and videos of the hotel and the rooms horrified us. Other hotels are the same price or even cheaper are way better then this one.

We had to wait a long time in the lobby because the staff was not at the check in desk. Another hotel guest had to get an employee then that employee had to contact another employee which took a long time to show up. The front desk staff are rarely available and lack basic customer service skills.

After we paid for the room, employee walked us into a extremely foul smelling room that wrecked of mold. When I mentioned the mold smell the employee said it must be the room fresher smell.

I asked if there was another room available and their reply was there were no other rooms available in my price range and other rooms upstairs would cost more money.

She walked us to a room upstairs that faced a trash filled abandoned construction site that was not cleaned after the last guest. She told us we would have to wait for the room to be cleaned then later on opened another room next to the dirty room she showed us and said we could get that room.

That room faced the same trash abandoned lot and also had the same moldy smell. She told us there are no other rooms when the hotel appeared to be close to empty. We knew the three hotel guests staying there from our scuba diving trips.

We took the room because we already paid but after actually being in the room for less than 15 minutes we could not bear staying there.

I have video and photos to demonstrate but nothing can record the foul smell of the room or tap water. Hotels on the Island get their water from a shared well source which can have a foul odor and is extremely unsafe to drink or have it get in your mouth.

If you want to stay on Dharavandhoo- You would do yourself a huge favor by NOT staying at Aveyla Manta Village Hotel.

Date of stay: May 2019
4  Thank Worldtravler247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RyshynA, Owner at Aveyla Manta Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Dear competitor/guest

You and i know that the review is based on a very negative mindset from a very angry person(competitor ) who have not really stayed with us and what you have said in the review are very false information and this review is been purposely constructed to destroy our reputation in the market .

we have not made any edited or fake videos , i am sorry but YOU have lied in 99% in this review and i personally know who you did this review for.

Thank you ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

We just finished 10 days at Aveyla Manta Village. Is a lovely boutique hotel along the beach on Dharavandhoo Island. The staff are very friendly and the hotel has a private beach garden area with plenty of shade under the trees. Unlike the typical manicured resorts in the Maldives the Aveyla is personable, it’s affordable, and has an earthy and local feel to the place. I was surprised one day when some locals climbed the trees and harvested the coconuts at the beach garden. I was later told that the islanders have the rights to all the coconuts which they sell at markets. By taking a walk around the island or down to the harbour you will get an insight to daily life of islanders in the Maldives.

From our initial pick up at the Dharavandhoo Airport by May from the reception and the welcome by Achmed the manager the 10 days went perfectly for us. We stayed on a full board basis. Rooms are very clean, fresh towels every day for both the room and the beach. WiFi is available and even worked in the beach garden. The food from the kitchen was fabulous and really really healthy. There is something for all types with fresh fish, meat and veggie options. There is an al la carte menu if you prefer.

The hotel has a scuba diving center β€œLiquid Salt Divers” Sidey and Ryshyn are expert instructors and great hosts at the Aveyla itself. They have their own boat and crew which goes out 2 or 3 times a day to see marine life such as turtles, dolphins and so on. One of the main attractions is diving or snorkeling with the Mantas which we hope to be back for later in the year. Liquid Salt also provide all levels of PADI training and discovery dives for first timers. We chose to just to sunbathe, swim and snorkel off the beach. Sidey organized a boat trip for us to the sandbank and Raji from the resturant offered us a picnic for the afternoon.

Coming from the Atlantic side of Europe one of the the best features of the holiday was the weather and sea temperatures and Aveyla is just a place you don’t want to leave. Its the perfect location to get off grid and get into the moment. Just walk out of the room every morning and have a snorkel before breakfast!!!!

Note: there is no alcohol on Dharavandhoo Island as with much of the Maldives. This wasn’t a negative for us at all, it added to the healthy and relaxing lifestyle of the holiday. We have returned home really refreshed.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank 3_2_1slowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Our primary reason for choosing Aveyla was the emphasis on diving and affordable pricing on lodging & dive packages. It is the higher priced option compared to other guest houses on the island since it is, as of now, the only beachfront guesthouse. I highly recommend that you would need the full board option as there appeared to be few restaurants on the island.

The food is simple & straightforward with fresh ingredients, including tuna and local reef fish. There was only one pasta dish which tasted as if the sauce was store bought (which if a few Italian spices and some sautΓ©ed garlic could have masked) out of the eleven meals. Tuna is a staple due to its availability and they prepare it well from the traditional Maldivian breakfast Mas Huni (with coconut rooshi or plain chapati). Trust me, I was thinking minced tuna with coconut & green chili but WOW!
We received questioning looks when we asked if we could have the banana sponge cake (for us it was similar to a fluffier banana bread) as one of our breakfast items but it went perfect with tea or coffee& just enough density to fill you up before your diving begins!
If your meals largely revolve around beef options, you will not appreciate the creative and healthy meals. The vegetarian lasagna was another highlight & redeemed the kitchen from the earlier pasta fumble. We were very surprised that the last dinner was served on candle lit beach-what a nice surprise and a great special touch to the end of our stay.

Another bonus for Aveyla's location is that it only requires a short domestic flight after arriving in Male.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Highlander95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

I Can highly recommend this place - we had the most wonderful time. A small but personal place with space for eveyone.
The beds are perfect
The rooms are Nice, clean, a/c and fan which is just perfect so you sleep Like a princess. The Food is very delicious, we ordered fullboard and you get a 3-course menu to choose from so it is not the buffet which was just perfect and not a waste of food. There was a Nice variety to choose between so you got a new menu every Day for lunch and dinner.

The owners and the staff are very professionel and will do anything to give you the Best holiday.
For diving and snorkeling trip you get the most dedicated people, who just loves to get in the Water as much as you do.
They go in the water and take pictures and to see the mantas they put up a drone so they are easier to find even when it is not the season. We were there in february (out of season) but went just an hour by speedboat and had the best moments with the mantas.
We are looking forward to go back again.

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank janeo604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 21, 2018 via mobile

Stayed only one night before joining Liveaboard.The price for room is very reasonable and room was clean, comfortable and everything are there in the room what you need.
You can make coffee and tea in the restaurant for 24 hours and also there are some in the room too.
Foods in the restaurant were very nice! Sometimes they prepare for buffet style depend on the number of guests but also you can order a la carte by yourself and menu has reasonable number for choice. All staff are very friendly and nice, very good service for everything ! This resort is not big place but you can enjoy and relaxing with sort of hidden place. Resort located in front of beach and they have very good diving shop, port is very close from resort and it is just 5 minutes walk.Definitely I will go back this resort again in near future !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Squirri007_diving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews