We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Barra”
Review of Vista Do Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vista Do Mar
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Of all my island holidays, I still prefer Vista do Mar in Mozambique. The location is perfect with only a 30 minute drive from the airport. The lodge is 5 star with spacious, beautifully decorated rooms. Our beach front room had breathtaking views over the ocean, the food and service was excellent. We had great fun pub crawling on our quad bikes that we rented from the lodge. The beach is absolutely beautiful and the water was nice and warm to swim in. We also rented jet ski's and some of our friends went for deep sea fishing. We will definitely go back and recommend Vista do Mar to anyone who is considering visiting Mozambique.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne-marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Vista do Mar many times over the last couple of years and the service has always been excellent and the accommodation very comfortable. It is right on the ocean with nice warm water and miles of beaches. Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiaan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

On a recent trip through Mozambique we spent a few days at Vista do Mar in Inhambane, the lodge is simply in a different class to the others in the region. The location is excellent, the rooms are brilliant, the food is superb and the service is exceptional. We will definately be staying there again and again......

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing, so no problem here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mozambique had now become more accessible to tourists. And many holiday resorts have been developed on the coast; initially with the most basic facilities, but better equipped later. The Vista do Mar is a lodge offering luxury holiday accommodation in Barra, and more: an experience of Mozambique's beaches and sea that will not be easily surpassed.

The sea view - that had given this lodge its name - is over the wide swing of the bay north of Inhambane. Barra is situated at the lighthouse near the ancient Portugese harbor town of Inhambane. You can reach it by car, or fly to the airport where somebody from the lodge will meet you, to drive with you through coconut plantations to Barra.

Vista do Mar offers twenty en suite bedrooms and a flat for its guests. When we tired of lazing in the swimming pool, air conditioning in our room helped us to escape from the midday heat. However, very few of Vista do Mar's guests come to relax on the beach. There you can participate in a variety of sporting activities.

Some of the most popular things to do, is deep sea fishing from one of Vista do Mar's boats. You catch cuta, kingfish and wahoo in the bay of Inhambane, or even a magnificent sailfish. Can fishing is also an option, or skin diving in the lagoon.

Some of our friends felt challenged to do a jet ski trip over the surging ocean swells. Others preferred a ride on one of the quad bikes down the open beach. Barra is simply a paradise for energetic holiday makers - but always under the guarding eyes of Gys and Eloise, who manage the activities at Vista do Mar.

Tourists still fondly remember Mozambique's delicious seafood. For them, there is always fresh fish on the menu at Vista do Mar, expertly prepared by its chef. When combined with prawns, crabs, crayfish and squid, it became a veritable banquet. The traditional Portugese peri-peri chicken was served with chips and fresh tomato salad. An ice-cold bottle of white wine was at hand to douse the flames of the chilies.

At sunset, we proposed a toast to Jonathan and Rose Lindenberg, who manage Vista do Mar. The last rays of the sun sparkled in our glasses. "To the good life!" someone suggested. "With such a pleasant view of the sea," we added.

Dr Pieter Haasbroek
UIthoek Farm, Franschhoek

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have visited Vista do Mar on numerous occasions. The experience only gets better. The Lodge is of outstanding quality, all rooms are air conditioned and well equipped. The rooms are all sea view and the view is stunning. The beach stretches for miles and the water is amazingly warm and as it is situated in a bay there are no currents that pose a threat to children swimming on their own.
Will be there soon again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Vista do Mar is the place to be when it comes to having the best, most luxurious vacation of your life! I have been to a few places in Mozambique, but truthfully this hotel has blown my mind and I will definitely return! You will only do yourself and your family a favour in staying at this hotel. It truly makes Mozambique just an even more amazing experience. I cannot believe how professional and friendly the staff is, everything is top class and I honestly want to thank everyone who has been a part of my experience at Vista do Mar, including the management and staff. You guys really make it worth every sent spent!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor-shaeb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have visited Visto Do Mar on quite a few occasions, and every time we were treated to the same high quality of accomodation and very professional staff. All rooms face the ocean, with two decks to relax on and enjoy the spectacular views.Guests can make use of quad bikes, jet ski's or the well equiped fishing boat. Adults an kids can enjoy themself in a beautiful and safe surrounding.Close to nice pubs and shopping. Certainly a holiday venue I will highly recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
0.8 mi away
Barra Beach Club
Barra Beach Club
#1 of 21 in Inhambane
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Praia da Barra
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove Lodge
Palm Grove Lodge
#6 of 21 in Inhambane
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Casa do Mar
Casa do Mar
#3 of 10 in Tofo
119 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Moon Beach Holiday Resort
25.5 mi away
Oyster Bay Estate
Oyster Bay Estate
#9 of 21 in Inhambane
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Do Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Do Mar

Address: Vista Do Mar, Praia Da Barra | Inhambane, Mozambique, Inhambane 1300, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane
Price Range: $94 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Do Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the trendy Praia da Barra (Barra Beach) in Inhambane, Vista Do Mar, meaning 'view of the sea' is a modern, tastefully furnished beach front lodge which offers ten stylish air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms (all with magnificent sea views 30 meters from the beach)and a range of other luxuries and activities such as fishing, charter, scuba, Jetskis, surfing & snorkling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Do Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing