We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate relaxation”
Review of Barra Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barra Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ultimate relaxation”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you're looking to relax, this is the place to be. Child-free when we were there which was bliss. Quiet and peaceful environment ideal for the avid reader. Try and get a bungalow right on the beach. The beach restaurant/bar adjoining the Lodge serves excellent crayfish. Further along the beach, the Green Turtle is ideal for excellent service, seafood and cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jianina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraBeachClub, General Manager at Barra Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to welcome you back at Barra Beach Club in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently my husband and I stayed at Barra Beach club in Mozambique for our honeymoon and we had such a lovely time that we were really sad to leave.

The managers of the hotel were absolutely divine and were really helpful in arranging our diving trip and Dow trip. They were also really friendly and made sure we were having a good time.

The staff at the hotel were also amazing. We didn't even notice the cleaning staff but our rooms were cleaned every morning and our bed turned back every night. The waiters were also exceptional and super quick at bring through each course. The hotel itself is also really beautiful and very tastefully decorated. When looking at our neighboring hotels which seemed a bit out dated we were very happy to be staying at Barra Beach Club which is new and modern.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxed and memorable holiday! It is beautiful and definitely worth it - we would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms facing the see which was a really nice size and beautiful. However the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarraBeachClub, General Manager at Barra Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for the kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you & Jared and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

A magical place - we truly enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness of staff, the good food (some ingredients fresh from their own veggie patch) and the good wine selection. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you need (if you are missing something - just ask! Evan will make it happen!) and you have got to see their garden, gorgeous! and very well maintained. We travelled with our twin girls by 4x4 but not needed to get there (all the way from Joburg not a single pothole! Beat this SA!) Whilst the hotel is not your usual family place the kids had a super time on the white beach and bathing in the gentle sea. (The hotel is building some spacious garden cottages right on the beach for extra space when traveling with toddlers)
Tips: Avoid peak season if you want to have some peace and quite, visit the mercado in Inhambane, much better priced than from the hawkers on the beach.
Wonder up the beach (to the left) and get spoiled at the Green Turtle, delicious fresh French food, exceptional service and proper Espresso!
Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank Verena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is located about a 100 mtres from the Beach, lovely location.
The hotel is more of THEN A 5 ***** hotel.
Service esxcellence, spotless clean.
Very friendly and orderly staff.
Manager Evan and Tibea , wonderful generious people.
We already miss them so much.
The food is so deligious that you cant waite to see whats next on the menu.
Great Sea Food mmmmmmm. loved it. cant wait to get back

The rooms are so beautiful and not forgetting the Decor all i can say is WOW!!!!
All i can say is Thank you so much for the great stay in your Hotel.

Room Tip: Carry your Sunscreen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reddygirl312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had 5 fantastic nights at Barra Beach Club, a small boutique hotel of the highest standard. Evan, the GM personally welcomed us on arrival and the staff was there whenever we needed anything, without being overbearing. Dinners were fresh out of the sea daily, and we were served a perfectly cooked breakfast every morning. The weather was wonderful for June, up to 28degrees Celsius in the day time & mostly sunny. With plenty to see and do, (if you like the ocean), there was also enough time to just relax or explore the plentyful bars & restaurants along this stretch of beach. The food is great, reasonably priced and the local Paradise gin is fantastic value for money as well as being tasty! Winter is the off-season here with only a few tourists around. I would happily go back in the winter, one day we had the entire 4km beach (and ocean beyond) to ourselves.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recently spent 7 nights at Barra Beach Club, accommodation, food, service and staff all excellent. Walk through the garden and on to the beach by their own beach bar, also good food and service. A few hawkers on the beach but not too pushy unless its Johnny Cash....beware he's sharp for a ten year old. Nice beach, lovely warm water and a few other resataurants within walking distance. Excursions can be booked at the Lodge next door, can recommend quad biking but wear takkies and the Pansey Island cruise.....awesome trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank garry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inhambane
9.6 mi away
Casa do Capitao
Casa do Capitao
#10 of 17 in Inhambane Province
58 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa na Praia Tofo
Casa na Praia Tofo
#2 of 11 in Tofo
219 reviews
5.2 mi away
Casa Barry Lodge
Casa Barry Lodge
#3 of 13 in Tofo
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sentidos Beach Retreat
Sentidos Beach Retreat
#1 of 1 in Inhambane
5 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mozambeat Motel
Mozambeat Motel
#1 of 13 in Tofo
189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baia Sonambula Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Beach Club

Property: Barra Beach Club
Address: Ave Josina Machel | Congiuna, Praia da Barra, Inhambane 36, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Inhambane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Inhambane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barra Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous 4 star hospitality offered in an effortless luxury lodge! 8 Superb double rooms, 3 Deluxe Ocean Villas and 1 Presidential Suite available for your comfort. Situated on the famous Barra Beach, a world of activities awaits! Enjoy scuba diving with the Giant Manta Rays, snorkeling with seahorses or explore Tofo on Quadbikes - all within a kilometer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barra Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing