We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Footprints Eco-Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Casa do Capitao(Inhambane Province)
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sentidos Beach Retreat(Praia da Barra)
$299
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barefoot in Barra(Inhambane)(Great Value!)
$64
$53
Orbitz.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Barra Lodge(Inhambane Province)
Jeff's Palm Resort(Inhambane Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
135
1
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
1
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningwhale sharksseafoodpeaceful placeocean safarithank you so muchbarra beachamazing placespectacular viewslocal environmentbreakfast and dinnerfresh juicesandy dunesyour eyescourse mealeither directionwhole team
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 139 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It is hard to put into words how my partner and I felt about this beautiful lodge on the Indian Ocean coast of Mozambique. It really is the most beautiful tranquil place with an amazing team of Liz and Lisa and their wonderful staff. You wonder where you are heading to as you are driven through the sand dunes but awaiting you just at the peak of the dunes overlooking the ocean is the most inspiring little lodge. Just 5 standalone lodge rooms, each one with superb views of the ocean. On our firs day, we lazed around on our verandah watching humpback whales breaching out of the water only a few hundred yards from the beach, as well as pods of dolphins. This is not a place to come for frenetic nightlife (though there are bars and restaurants up the coast at Tofu and just round the bay at Barra). But if you want to relax and be spoiled, this is the place for you. The food is beautiful, the service amazing. For a lodge with only 5 rooms to have a pool with a swim-up bar, and all this with incredibly good eco credentials is just heavenly. Thank you so much to all of you for looking after us so impeccably. I could wax lyrical for hours but I will let people come and judge for themselves - I feel sure they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are perfect. Arguably the one nearest the main building has the least privacy.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We satyed at Blue footprints as part of our honeymoon at the beginning of September. We had anticipated the trip to Mozambique very much but reality turned out to be even better. Blue Footprints is a unique lodge, which allows you to escape into a complete wilderness of African nature but enjoy the highest standards of living.

As many reviewers before we are very happy to pass here our sincerest regards and gratitudes to Lisa, Liz and all the staff of the lodge for doing their job the way they do it. THANK YOU VERY-VERY MUCH!

Pavel&Marina

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so don't worry abt it)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1_Puteshestvennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

High expectations when going to stay somewhere that has a 100% 5 star record on Tripadvisor. We specifically requested 3 nights here from our tour operator based on the Tripadvisor reviews and were very glad that we did. It was a really excellent 3 nights, the best accommodation on our holiday and a shame we didn’t have longer. Liz and Lisa built the place from scratch over 18 months and there is a photo book showing the progress. It is a really special place perched on the dunes overlooking the empty stretch of beach. Lots of whales to see during whale season. Food was excellent and we had some great evenings eating out under the stars. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danish1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Where do you start. I suppose i knew it was going to be a good week when as we walked across the runway there's a very big smiley Liz waving a blue footprints board at us. Before we've even cleared passport control Liz has already gathered our bags for us. What a start!

Liz quickly introduces us to another couple from aus who has arrived just before us on another flight (our Lam flight was delayed and apparently this happens often so give your connecting flights some time in between. Locals call the airline late and maybe, says it all). We then had a lovely drive out of inhambane with Liz pointing out stuff as we went. you really can't tell your there till Liz proudly proclaims we are here after fighting up the sand road in the landrover. As we get out of the car the whole team are there to welcome us, it's a lovely touch if not slightly overwhelming in a good way.

We were then sat down in the bar area and given some homemade coconut chips spiced with curry and fresh juice. That may sound awful but they are very moreish trust me. Liz then explains the set up of the place and about what time we wanted dinner etc which was very useful. We were then taken down to our huts/cabins/rooms (take your pick what you want to call them) we were given no 5 right at the end. Some people might say this is the best as your more secluded but honestly I think all 5 have a real good personal space around them, its not as if you can pop ya head over the balcony for chat.

We were then shown where everything was and how things worked in the room plus there was a lovely sparkling chilled bottle of wine for us as it was our honey moon. The rooms are lovely , yes you will find more luxurious (remember its an eco lodge and its off grid) but you probably won't find many with as much charm or better views. The mosquito nets make you fell like your sleeping in a four poster,plus the beds are really big and very comfortable. You get a flask of hot water for tea/coffee which is dropped off every morning between 7 and 8, also a cold water flask to keep you hydrated. All the water comes from a bore whole which is tested and we drank from it through out and had no issues. The rooms are big so your luggage never feels in the way plus there's plenty of space in the wardrobe to hang your stuff. Power is generated by solar and yes you can charge your gadgets but they ask you to be sensible and only do it at peak sun levels. Phone coverage was ok and allowed us to phone home no problem. You also get a lovely double indoor shower with solar heated water which was always piping hot if needed, each room has its own tank. The thing some people might struggle with is the toilet. It's a normal one no worries there, but there is no proper divide from the bedroom so it is hidden just by the wardrobe so if your a bit prudish then you may struggle plus you get a good view of the beach as you sit on it ha ha. There's also a sink for washing too and a programmable safe underneath for valuables. You get bed side tables and lamps which easily give enough light to read by at night. the rooms come with a wind up torch which you will definitely need as you go to and from dinner..

Outside there's a huge veranda with outdoor shower with chairs and a place to sling up the hammock. There's no aircon as its an eco lodge but seriously the breeze off the sea is very cooling and you won't miss it. You can get to the beach from the pool/bar area but be warned it's a mighty climb back up that dune to get to the stairs back up to the lodge

The food worried me before we got there as i'm very fussy, but my wife had informed them of this and every night there was food i could eat. normally there's 2 choices of starter, 2 choices for main and a home made dessert. Bread and dips are laid on the table to start and mains always come with a lovely fresh salad as well as what comes with the main course. We had lunch quite often at the lodge and also found this very good as well. As for evening meals we had steaks, tuna, prawns, chicken etc, plenty of seafood it that's your thing. The braai on sunday was brilliant a highlight of the week for me.
Service was always good by orlando and mercede (i think). Good choice of beer, cider and wine (mainly south african). If your coming from SA the alcohol is more expensive but after seeing where it has to get to you can probably see why! The only thing i would say that could improve the evening meal would maybe be the inclusion of some type of sauce for the steak. they also do a mean apple cumble!
Breakfast was great too from cooked to a help yourself cereal/museli and juice/tea coffee. The bowl of fresh fruit each morning was so tasty and fresh. It was great to sit there in the morning with a coffee and watch the whales frolic in the waves.

i could waffle on for hours. the beach is lovely and empty and goes for miles. its about a 45 min walk to Barra and double that to Tofo. Liz or Lisa can organise to pick up and drop off if you don't fancy the walk. If you need cash there's an atm at barra lodge and payable wifi. However in high season they have frequent power outages at Barra lodge as there not on solar so be warned after you hike it may be in vain. We did 2 trips, ocean safari and kayaking the lagoon, both good in different ways and worth doing in my opinion. The green turtle i thought was excellent for food and is run by a french couple. Mad mozzies was good for a drink but not for food. You can get internet at blue footprints but only through a modem line connection in the bar area at a charge so mobile devices/ tablets will be very costly on 3g.

Pool and the beds around are lovely to chill out on if you don't fancy chilling on your own chairs outside your room. Then there's the doggies, all very lovable and cute and bringing a smile to your face as you watch them playing in the dunes. Its off season at the time of our visit but it was still lovely and warm with no rain and you can't ask for more than that.

All the staff were fantastic, and the main folks Liz , Liza and the other gentleman and lady ( please excuse me as i cannot remember there names) always asking about your day and what plans we had and could they help with anything. you really do feel very special as at most they only have 10 guests at any one time.

Inhambane airport is nothing more than 2 rooms and is the smallest airport I've flown into and i would strongly recommend you get your visa before entering Mozambique, will save you lot's of time.

After 1 week we were totally chilled and relaxed and can honestly say we loved every minute. Well done to you guys for building this place and making it work and for making your guests feel like one big family, long may it continue and that not to many folks find this secret hideaway as we don't want it spolied for when we come back.

All the best
Neil & Rebecca

Room Tip: There all good
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved everything about this place from the very warm, personal and enthusiastic welcome to the location of the huts - right in the sand dunes. We came here on our honeymoon and the amazing staff went out of their way to make sure we had an amazing time. Everything about the place is 5 star from the views to food to the cocktails. We had the beach practically to ourselves (there was only 1 other couple here at the time) apart from the very friendly resident dogs. We were unlucky at the time with the weather as we couldn't do any sea activities but we got to whale watch over breakfast from the deck. We would recommend this place in a heartbeat and will stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather_Hooisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews