We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
21
28
22
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
28
22
10
11
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 92 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Taprospa evokes mixed sentiments. At a glance at the entrance one wonders if this is the same hotel that is featured beautifully on many websites. Under the luxurious fittings and appointments in the hotel lobby, rooms, bathroom there lurks unmistakable signs of decay, age and overuse. The hotel is basically in need of a facelift. On the other hand the service provided by restaurant staff, porters under the supervision of Resident Manager is commendable and somewhat makes up for the shortcomings. The backyard opens to a beautiful stretch of beach which is even better than the stretch at the adjoining Cinnamon Bay. Alas like many places inside the hotel the beach area too is neglected. We visited Taprospa at a time when the beach is rough and therefore we understand there is bound to be a lot of dirt and litter carried to the shores by the tide. However, many other little things can be easily righted, removed or repaired by the hotel including the broken and rusted fence, dirty broken-down boats and vile looking paraphernalia dotting the shore. Breakfast buffet contained a wider range of dishes while dinner and lunch too contained moderate choices. Caring attention to important details like good housekeeping, thorough cleaning on top of an essential overhauling is sure to make a positive transformation and make Taprospa a very good value choice for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiroshaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Having read all of the reviews, I can only agree with the one from 09.01. that says the mouldy room made the reviewer retch! As always, there is a subjective perspective to every rewiew. Having stayed at various hotels in the same price range during our trip around Sri Lanka, we knew to expect a basic room. The minimum requirement for any accommodation is cleanliness in our opinion. Our room had brown stained blinds, a filthy kettle that I refused to use and was infested with mosquitos. No shower gel, shampoo either until we requested it. Housekeeping did bring a mosquito coil once we were covered with bites. The tv was also of the historic variety compared to flat screens in every other hotel (no big deal but just to give the full picture).
Pool is ok but again could do with a bit of maintenance. As for the beach, there is not much to be seen in June. The sea is too rough to swim in and the waves take up most of the beach during most of the day. Therefore there are no sun loungers on the sand. You can lie in the garden and look at the sea though. Nothing else to do anyway. The SPA consists of two massage rooms; staff are friendly and provie a good servie at reasonable prices. Very nice tea from Mackwoods but bitter Vietnamese coffee that we found untrinkable. As for the food, there is a small selection of Sri Lankan food, no nan or hoppers though. The tableclothes on the buffets has not been changed in a long time and are caked with dirt. The hotel mainly caters for German tourists on cheap package trips (often all inclusive) and Arabs in the summer. Little choice for Arabs as a lot of pork is served but for the Europeans, there are a few choices.. why go to Sri Lanka to eat pork roll, veg and mash? When I asked why there was mainly European food, I was told that I am European and should be happy...
Just to top off our awful time, we left early morning and when we switched on the light in our room. there was a huge cockroach sitting by the bed flapping it's wings.
The reception and bar area are quite pretty, thebrest of the hotel obviously needs to catch up.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Visited Taprospa with my Best friend on a girls only vacation . It is grand and right next to the sea.
The view from my room was amazing . Lot of greens and blue is a treat to the eye.

Food- just excellent .My package had only breakfast and dinner . I loved the food .Variety of cuisines and happy face to assist is a welcome sight.

Overall - Excellent

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms give the best view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhuvanaj2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I visited with my family hotel was good one.the spa was also good and good person.swiming pool was good. Beach was not as good as it should be. Restaurant was bit expensive to eat but breakfast they have less vegetarian food . Room air condioner was bit old and need to replace.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Hemal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a very nice vacation in this hotel. The staff are so friendly, the food is great.
Our room was on first floor with the ocean view. Room is clean. There is small refregirator, safe metal box, fan, air condition, hairdryer, TV, teapot, even shower cap and small bottles of hair conditioner, so, these small details make our rest so comfortable.
Managers of the hotel are always ready to help in any issues. I give the additional star to this hotel! :)
Tonya, Kiev Ukraine

Отдыхали в этом отеле 10 дней. Данный отель подтвердил бронь практически за день до нашего отлета, до этого просмотрев много разных отелей 2,3 звезды, я была готова уже ко всему, но Тапроспа приятно удивил. Мы жили в номере 206 на первом этаже, номер убирали каждый день, мило раскладывая цветочки на кровати. В номере кондиционер, фен, вентилятор, холодильник, телевизор, лосьон для тела и кондиционер для волос, даже шапочка для душа:), также есть сейф, маленький чайник, чай, кофе, сахар. Еда достаточно разнообразная, еще пиво очень вкусное:). За все это время мы были единственные русскоговорящие гости, в основном все отдыхающие это британцы и немцы (что для нас было скорее плюс, чем минус). Все номера с видом на океан. Wi-Fi в лобби возле ресепшн, а также возле бара, иногда дотягивает даже до бассейна.
Персонал очень дружелюбный, менеджеры отеля всегда готовы прийти на помощь в любых вопросах.
На пляж ходили к соседнему отелю Ypsylon, там удобнее вход в океан.
Природа обалденная, океан теплый, закаты невероятно красивые, Шри Ланка прекрасна!
Обязательно вернемся сюда еще!
Отель однозначно рекомендую для спокойного и размеренного отдыха, соотношению цена-качество более чем оправдано!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews