We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the Owners Mercy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Worthington
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Worthington
Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“At the Owners Mercy”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am a crane operator in the wind industry and am at the mercy of small town hotels. Three of us stayed at this hotel and are appalled at the lack of respect and disregard we got from the owner. We are also at the mercy of the weather and in high winds, we are sent home. We had initially paid for three rooms for three nights – 05/29/2013 through 05/31/2013. We explained to the owner that we might have to cancel due to weather and he assured us we would get a refund.

On Thursday, due to high winds we were sent home after one night’s stay. Mind you, we had just spent a week in this hotel the week before. We contacted the owner as soon as we got the notification – around 11:45am Thursday. He refused to issue a refund or a credit because we cancelled late. Is this any way to take care of a repeat customer?? For calling in a cancellation 45 minutes past a deadline??? Now we were concerned for Friday because the charges for three nights had gone through immediately on Wednesday.

We got notification that we would not need Friday’s room late on Thursday and cancelled our room for Friday. This time he said he would give us a credit for a room for a future stay. This is NOT what we wanted as with our industry, we are all over the area and never sure where we will be called next. I had several conversations with the owner and he angrily conceded that he would refund Thursday and Friday, but that if I needed a room for Friday, I would pay a higher rate – I didn’t care. I was just happy to get the refund.

As luck would have it, we WERE called back to that location Friday and were back in discussion with a very disrespectful, angry owner. He blatantly LIED to me that he NEVER said he would refund anything. He said we would get a credit for one night and that is all.

I am so sick to be at the mercy of these hotel owners. He was rude, the room stunk, the food was marginal – just a very rotten way for a hard working man who has been in the field for over 12 hours to end the day. Absolutely disgusting.

I will now TRAVEL to Jackson to stay at a better, finer establishment due to our treatment at this one. Feel free to contact me with ANY questions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissEllie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danstawart, Manager at Days Inn Worthington, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest


When this particular guest took the room for 3 nights the hotel had gave him a construction rate which is non refundable. Guest stayed 2 nights and wanted to check out 4pm in the afternoon which is automatically another day charge. All the hotels has either 11am or noon check out time. not at 4pm. still hotel helped the guest out for his next day credit which guest did came and used it. we have no idea why guest is putting up false information against the hotel. every one works hard for money. All the comments are provided by guest is absolutely false. We are not putting this response to argue with the guest but purpose of this response is to let the people know that guest had absolutely provided the false and misleading information about the hotel.
The reason why this guest had put up review because he did not wanted to pay for the room despite staying until 4pm which another day charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    42
    32
    43
See reviews for
62
36
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much. Check in was very quick and the front desk staff was very helpful. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Nice breakfast in the morning! Next time I'm back in Worthington I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kam2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

While I appreciate hotels with extra ammenities I certainly don't need them. I simply desire a clean and comfortable room. This hotel provides neither. After a long day I pulled back the covers of the bed to discover a jubilee of stains on both the top and bottom steets. There were at least three different types of stains and I was repulsed to say the least. After notifying the front desk staff he tried to hand me another pair of sheets. I replied, "um, no, your sheets were dirty when I arrived; you can change them". He then sends his wife in to change the sheets and the replacement sheets were also stained! She even told me "they aren't stains, they are just old". I replied "we'll it sounds like its time to get some new sheets then". I was so repulsed I checked out a day early and found othe accomadaions. Bottom line: I have stayed at nicer and cleaner hostels, don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Worthington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthington
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Worthington
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Norwood Inn & Suites
Norwood Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Worthington
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sibley
17.6 mi away
Sibley Inn, Iowa
Sibley Inn, Iowa
#2 of 2 in Sibley
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Worthington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Worthington

Property: Days Inn Worthington
Address: 207 Oxford St, Worthington, MN 56187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Worthington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Worthington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Worthington 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Worthington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worthington Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing