We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Senior group vist”

Spomer Classics & Museum
Attraction details
Huron SD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Senior group vist”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everyone who visited enjoyed the displays and history. Allow at least a couple of hours to enjoy the full tour

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SeniorClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very worth while place to visit. The owner took a great lenghth of time to show us his wonderful collection of neon sign and collectiuon of cars

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlady141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth the visit!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Mr. Spomer clearly has a passion for sharing his collection. I'm not a car person at all, I couldn't tell the difference between classic cars - but I still really enjoyed this tour. First of all, it's free! There's a donation jar and you'll want to leave something after Mr. Spomer has given you more than an hour of his time - but I never felt any pressure to do so. He knows the history of every sign in the building. He's warm, friendly, and very welcoming. He doesn't come across as a "car salesman type" at all. One thing to note - he mentioned and we also noticed that it appears that no one's on the premises when you drive by - because hey, let's admit that paying to light up all those neon signs 24/7 would be astronomical in cost. But there's a phone number on trip advisor and he promptly returned my call. You can also try the east delivery door and if he's there, he'd welcome you in. A truly enjoyable experience for everyone, car enthusiasts or not!!!
I think it may be a bit long for toddlers and you'd have a hard time wrangling them to ensure they didn't touch things - but older kids and teens would probably enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rideap8nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Museum for Signs and Cars”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This museum has a large collection of automotive signs. Also has about 2 dozen classic 50s and 60s cars. A few of these cars are unique, but the main attraction is all of the signs. Marv Spomer is a former Worthington car dealer who has collected and restored some very nice porcelain, neon and metal automotive related signs. Some of these signs are one of a kind and most are at least pretty unique. Marv gives a great tour and has the history of all of the signs and cars in his collection. The signs are lit and the displays are a little over-whelming. Overall, this is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canoecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spomer Classics & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Spomer Classics & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing