We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dayton House Worthington, Minnesota”

The Historic Dayton house
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worthington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Historic Dayton house
Ranked #1 of 1 Worthington B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow, what a neat place. My daughter reserved the home from 4pm to 10pm for a birthday gathering. She made a delicious meal for 12 of us. We got the tour and had a great time with house staff Colleen and Cathy. After the meal my daughter reserved the Dayton Suite for our over night stay. The suite is so beautiful and comfortable. Full sitting room, bedroom, and bath. The furnishing are gorgeous. Bed very comfortable and so quiet and peaceful. I wish there was a way to help promote this home as a place to stay. We will be going back every opportunity we have.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

They have recently completed a $2M renovation and they have done a tremendous job. I recently stayed there and the hosts were most accommodating. Just a magical night in a magical place. It will take you back in time and will be a night worth remembering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowitsmillertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Historic Dayton House B&B, and our only regret was that we couldn’t spend more nights there. Colleen greeted us warmly and gave us a tour of the fully restored and beautifully furnished home originally built by department store magnate George D. Dayton. The porch was a cool and restful spot, surrounded by flowers. We sat there after bringing in our suitcases, to enjoy the cookies left for us in the suite and to savor the afternoon breeze. There are only two guest suites in the house, both furnished with antiques and consisting of a bedroom, sitting room with television, and an en suite bathroom with claw-foot tub and shower. We appreciated the central air conditioning and the effective wi-fi service. The other suite was not occupied, so we had the entire house to ourselves. We had a restful sleep and then enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast left for us, including a banana bread, small quiches with ham, cheese and onion, coffee and teas, juices, bread, bagels, english muffins, apple butter, etc. We were on our way home after a trip from New York to see national parks as far West as Glacier in Montana, and this was our favorite place to stay out of all the motels and b&b’s. I cannot understand why anyone seeking a restful night would stay in or near Worthington at a chain motel rather than here. For at least a night, you can feel like a millionaire.

In Minnesota’s prairie land,
One hostelry is truly grand;
You will adore, I guarantee,
The Historic Dayton House B&B.
Not far from Okabena Lake,
This lodging really takes the cake,
From the large and comfy suites
To delicious home-baked treats,
You will not find an inn so nice
Even spending twice the price!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This historic property is extremely well-kept and nicely furnished. The decor and finishes are authentic and interesting, and it has a great history and story to tell. The hospitality and extra touches provided by the staff were wonderful. We especially enjoyed home baked cookies and tea in our room after a long drive. We enjoyed two nights in a suite which had all of the amenities for a very reasonable rate. The Worthington area was quite lovely, with a nice lake and quaint downtown. The Dayton House was located within walking distance of both, which made it so convenient for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTH303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Imagine getting a tour of a stately, completely-restored mansion of a 19th century millionaire...
...and then being given keys to one of the two upstairs suites for the night.
I reserved a suite in the Historic Dayton House for the last day of an upper plains vacation, because Worthington was a convenient stopping point. I didn't know what to expect since I couldn't quite figure out what the place was from their website.
We arrived later than I expected, but Colleen had graciously stayed, greeted us warmly, and took us on a tour of this magnificently restored mansion. It reminded me of various 19th century Governors homes I have paid to tour - but for the price of what would be a room in some hotels, we would spend the night in a two room suite surrounded by the splendor and style of another era's wealth. Unbelievable!
The house is owned and managed by a local foundation, and apparently accommodates everything from special events to lodging.
When the tour was finished, Colleen gave us the keys and household instructions, and wished us a pleasant night. We sipped sodas in rocking chairs on the wide front veranda before turning in, wholly alone in this huge historic house. Still Unbelievable!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The house is very cool, lots of antiques, and tastefully decorated, there are only 2 rooms and the other was vacant so my Wife and I had the house to ourselves. It is stocked with complimentary drinks, snacks, and continental breakfast items. The lady who checked us in, gave us a tour of the house and made us feel very welcome. Its not really a destination type place but the neighborhood was ok, there is a nice park not too far away with trails along the lake.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. There were only two rooms and they were both really large with sitting rooms. The antiques were wonderful and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skjdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Worthington hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worthington
1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Worthington
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Norwood Inn & Suites
Norwood Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Worthington
294 reviews
1 mi away
Days Inn Worthington
Days Inn Worthington
#6 of 7 in Worthington
192 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Worthington Minnesota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Dayton house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Dayton house

Address: 1311 4th Ave, Worthington, MN 56187-2446
Location: United States > Minnesota > Worthington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Worthington
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing