We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Woodbury
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina, USA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spotless!!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the cleanest hotels I've ever been in. Despite the ongoing remodeling, the entire property both inside and outside, is in great condition. The room was bright and spotless. There were extra pillows already provided and more than enough towels and washcloths. The shower is terrific, the bed comfortable, the staff professional and courteous. The breakfast had many selections and the staff was extremely efficient in cleaning crumbs and other food debris left behind. The indoor pool was extremely well maintained.

Room Tip: As far as I can tell, all the rooms are good. I usually prefer rooms NOT in the vicinity of an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your response! We value all comments from our guests; they help us better serve you in the future so we can provide everyone with an enjoyable stay. We are very happy to inform you that our renovation is complete! We have a brand new lobby/breakfast area, business center and added a new fitness room! We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    99
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
165
56
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have to start with the thank-you and kudos to the helpful, accommodating and very friendly staff.

The hotel is in the midst of renovations, but I didn't find anything disruptive. They're adding a business center (now they just have a computer in the lobby, adequate for printing boarding passes) and a fitness center (they have a pool and offer passes to decent local gyms.) They're also upgrading their breakfast bar area, though it's not bad the way it is.

I was in one of the newly redone rooms. It's a standard Hampton Inn room, perfectly comfortable but unremarkable. The one serious issue I have is the air conditioning, which is in a large wall unit. It's noisy, but worse, it's right next to the desk. If you're working at the desk and the A/C comes on, you're directly in the blast of cold air. It's bad enough to make the work area extremely uncomfortable.

The only eateries in walking distance are fast food, but if you don't mind a very short drive there's an outdoor mall just up the street with casual dining options.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for providing us feedback about your recent stay at the Woodbury Hampton Inn. As you know, we are in the process of updating our hotel and are excited to offer our guests the finished product this fall. I appreciate your comments, as our #1 priority is guest satisfaction. We hope to have you return to our hotel when traveling back to the Woodbury area in the future.

Sincerely,

Jamie Seaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very Clean! I would say (aside from our stay in a 2-week old Hampton Inn a few years back) this is by far the cleanest hotel I've stayed in. I always ask to see a room to check for cleanliness before I will stay in a hotel because I am very particular about carpets, bedcovers, bathrooms etc. Everything was exceptionally clean, especially the carpet which looked almost brand new.
We arrived on a Sunday night and Monday morning, the pool was being cleaned after a busy weekend of use. The girls really enjoyed the pool/hot tub.
Our stay encompassed a total of three nights and we really got to know the staff very well in that time. Every staff member was extremely courteous and helpful and always had a smile. Steve, the front desk mgr helped me in trying to find transpotation while we were there. Very friendly guy!!! Barb, our breakfast server, has a way of making you feel like you're the most important person in the world. By the end of our stay, she actually became a friend that we will continually keep in touch with. Other names escape me, but one thing is for certain - they made us feel like family.
The hotel is also conveniently located within walking distance to shopping centers and restaurants.
This will be our hotel from now on in Woodbury.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your response! We value all comments from our guests; they help us better serve you in the future so we can provide everyone with an enjoyable stay. We are very happy to inform you that our renovation is complete! We have a brand new lobby/breakfast area, business center and added a new fitness room! We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we had points to use. It was a basic hotel, but the service made it feel like a five star. Every staff person we encountered was over the top helpful, from the lady running breakfast to housekeeping. The hotel does not currently have a gym, but they will give you passes to a local gym at no cost. The front desk even called one of the gyms for me to make sure I could leave my son in the play area while I exercised. The rooms were clean and quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaTravellingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your response! We value all comments from our guests; they help us better serve you in the future so we can provide everyone with an enjoyable stay. We are very happy to inform you that our renovation is complete! We have a brand new lobby/breakfast area, business center and added a new fitness room! We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I arrived very late at night and left early the next morning, so didn't really 'experience' the hotel, other than getting a decent night's sleep. It's an older HI, but was clean and comfortable. The location suited my purposes (convenient for interstate). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I am happy to inform you that we are just beginning a full renovation, which is set to be completed this fall. We will be making some updates to our guest rooms, lobby, breakfast area, and adding an exercise facility. We are excited to complete the renovation and show off our newly remodeled hotel. We hope with our continued efforts to improve, you will keep the Woodbury Hampton Inn in mind next time you stay in the area.

Sincerely,

Jamie Seaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I loved the fact that the hotel was easy to find off the highway. What I didn't like is looking in the pool and seeing how dirty it was. The staff person at the front desk, who told me she is not a maintenance person, attempted to clean the pool. When I asked about her cleaning the hot tub that looked dirty as well, she said she was unable and it would have to be drained. Even though I had to wait, while have a small birthday party in the room, I was given no comensation and not even any apologies. We did have that small icky pool to ourselves, and it was only 4 feet deep so perfect for the kids, ages 9 and under. In the morning when I asked for breakfast to go bags, I was first only given one. I had two kids with me, and they handed me one breakfast to go. After requesting two more bags I was given them. The breakfast to go bag had a small water, a mini muffin, a small apple, and a small cereal bar. The duvet covers on the bed were washed so many times that you could visibly see the tears of the material. The so called vending machings only had a few candy bars, maybe 10 at most, and they were $1.75 each. I didnt buy anything from the vending since the machine looked old and the candy possibly expired. The bath tub in the room wasnt very clean eiether. You get what you pay for, and next time I would deffinatly spend $30-$50 more for a better quality hotel. It's hard to move a birthday party which is why we stayed. I was not even given a thank you or please come again as I left the hotel. Very very poor customer service.

Room Tip: I did request on the website to have a room next to the pool. The pool doesnt have rooms surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy198125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
I want to thank you for your feedback. We value you as our guest and encourage any feedback so we can better serve our guests in the future. I apologize you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel. These issues have been addressed with my staff and several measures have been taken to ensure incidents like this do not happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve guest satisfaction, you will give the Hampton Inn another try if you are ever travelling back to the Woodbury area.

Sincerely,

Jamie Seaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Old, tired, dirty, worn hotel with disengaged staff. Rooms look clean at 1st glance, but you soon see otherwise during your stay. Peeling wallpaper, scratched and faded furniture, stains on walls, etc. This is the dirtiest, most worn Hampton Inn I have visited.
Staff not smart enough to put AC on befire you arrive, so expect a sweltering hot, stinky room upon arrival.
Careful taking a shower as you could slip unless you ask for a slip-matt. Also (Strangely enough) the bottom of the tub is slightly oval (curved) versus flat. So standing in the tub for a shower actually hurt my feet. They use water softener so expect it to take forever to rinse soap off your body.
Housekeeping does just enough to get by. I found a balled up tissue behind the toilet bowel, not mine. GROSS! Sheets come off the bed because housekeeping too lazy to tuck the bottom sheet in tightly. Trash can liner wrapped so tight (forming a void under it) and not all the way into the trash can, so you can't put garbage in.
Go all the way down to the 1st floor if you want ice.
Staff obviously does not care about guests nor their pathetic jobs. Sad! Only saving grace is the kind lady working the breakfast area - obviously she loves people and her job.
Avoid this dump of a hotel and check out the Sheraton or Hilton Garden Inn, instead.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - try the Sheraton or Hilton Garden Inn which are far superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Mr. Beck,

I am very sorry to hear about your recent stay with us. I have addressed you concerns with my housekeeping manager and will be following up with our entire housekeeping staff to ensure incidents like this do not happen again. I also want to let you know about our upcoming renovation slated for the hotel. We are completely renovating our entire public areas that will include a new lobby and breakfast area, as well as adding a fitness center. We are also updating some things in our guest rooms; including painting and resurfacing our bath tubs to name a few. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make things up to you and experience our true hospitality.
Sincerely,

Jamie Seaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbury
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Paul East
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Paul-Woodbury
1.0 mi away
Sheraton St. Paul Woodbury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Paul/Oakdale
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn St. Paul Woodbury
3.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Minneapolis - Woodbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury

Property: Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury
Address: 1450 Weir Dr, Woodbury, MN 55125-4408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Woodbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Woodbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury only 3 miles from St. Paul. Located near many large business, our hotel is perfect for business travelers. We are only 15 miles from the Mall of America or shop locally at Tamarack Village. All Hampton Inn guest rooms include free internet, free hot breakfast (or grab a On the Run breakfast bag), free hot tea and coffee in the lobby. Relax in our pool or whirlpool or use our fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul-Woodbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/St. Paul/Woodbury Hotel Woodbury
Hampton Inn Woodbury
Woodbury Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing