We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$115
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carriage House Bed and Breakfast(Winona)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
78
59
17
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
59
17
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattached restaurantattached green millfront deskroom servicepool arearoom was cleannext monthin townminor complaintcucumber watercheck in was smoothdefinitely stay here againholiday innpull out couchseparate bedroomlarge hot tubthe cleaning crew
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 171 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

In town for family reunion, made reservations through Orbitz, evidently reservations showed for a 1 King 2 adults no kids, but should have been 2 queen 2 adults 3 kids. The woman at the desk was very helpful and got us the room we needed, $129/night, which was great for the room we got. Good sized room, very clean, nothing at all to find fault with. The pool area is wonderful, kids area with kiddie slides and shallow water is great for our 4 year old, our 7 and 9 year olds loved the swim pool. I loved the hot tub, large sized, water wasn't so hot that it burned your skin. Area was very clean as well with a nice amount of towels. Even though we didn't have time to use the fitness center, again, very nice and clean. Kids especially loved the TV in the bathroom. Have stayed in this Hotel previously when it was the Holiday inn, but is now the Plaza...continues with great quality. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrisM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. So much seems to get lost in reservations made through online agencies, know that it's always best to book with a hotel directly. I'm very glad that we were able to accommodate the additional people, and that everyone enjoyed our hotel amenities. Thank you for your kind reference to the staff - they are very hardworking and it means a lot to all of us to know that you appreciated their efforts. Please come back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We were looking for a decent place to sleep for a night with our family. Most hotels were sold out, and we were traveling with a small dog. We stayed in a family suite. I was pleased at the roominess of our suite (nice, big bathroom). We bought some wings in in the Green Mill (attached restaurant), and a couple beers. The wings were very good - definitely recommend. The kids enjoyed the hot tub; they were a little old for the kiddy pool, but if you have small kids, that would be a perk of this hotel. There's a regular pool and a smaller pool for young children. All in all, I'd return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FiveFreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We LOVE people who travel with their dogs, and were happy that we could accommodate your family's needs. We hope that you were able to take advantage of the coupons offered for the Green Mill Restaurant while you were here, too. We'll look forward to your next visit to Winona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family held a reunion in Homer Valley this weekend, several of us traveling from out of town
needed hotel accommodations for the July 4th holiday and the Plaza was recommended to us by a local relative. We were all extremely pleased with the rooms, the restaurant, and the amenities offered by the hotel (pool/fitness room). The staff was super-friendly, our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We're glad that your family was able to take advantage of the great amenities offered at The Plaza Hotel and Suites! The staff is always happy to hear about our guests' visits, and we all hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I travel on business to Winona on a monthly basis and have stayed at just about every property in town. This is my first stay here, I usually opt for a cheaper hotel. Even with AAA discount this property is spendy. Building is nicely kept up with a Green Mill restaurant attached. Rooms are a cross between modern and old based on furnishings. 40" flat screen but older wood dressers and wall paper border. Comfortable beds and was clean...no free breakfast but a coupon for a dollar off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SIOUXFANFOREVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in beautiful Winona. We're very happy that you noticed the beginning of our décor changes and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

excellent motel...Friendly and very family orientated. every thing was very clean. We took our grandkids for a night with grandma and grandpa and they were the happiest kids around! They are begging to go back.

Room Tip: this motel and staff could not get any better...The family suite is the best...plenty of things for kids to do as well as adults!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Susan, we are very glad to hear that you, your husband, and grandkids enjoyed your time with us. We provide a variety of amenities and information for our guests whether it be a family or an individual traveling alone. Our very kid friendly pool area allows both children and adults to enjoy themselves as well as the restaurant. We hope you took advantage of the discount and kids eat free coupons for the Green Mill. We hope to see you and your grandkids soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews