We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Well our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. We never were bothered by noise and the price was reasonable but the one reason we would certainly return was the pool. There is the sweetest little kiddie pool by the regular pool with slides and everything! Our oldest is already wondering when we can go back.

Another thing we liked was that you could go to their on site restaurant (the Green Mill) and order a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannerSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind compliments. We're happy to hear that the entire family enjoyed the amenities found here at The Plaza Hotel and Suites! Our goal is to provide an enjoyable stay at a competitive rate, with amenities that exceed our guests' expectations. We'll be looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

I've stayed here often over the few years and it is a nice 3 star hotel. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable. There is also a pool. The location is so-so because you need to walk across the highway to get to Target and Walmart (there are lights but regardless, it is inconvenient). Downtown Winona is not too convenient to walk to. It is close to the lake though, which is nice (again, you still need to walk across the road).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Built upon the backwaters of the Mississippi River, the town of Winona is indeed located in a very picturesque area of Minnesota. Surrounded by the Bluffs of the Mississippi River, Winona is in the only area of the Mississippi River that runs east! US Highway 61 courses through Winona, and The Plaza Hotel and Suites is conveniently located on the east end of town. Winona itself is spread over an area 8 miles long by 3 miles wide. For your safety, taking a vehicle to cross the highway is highly recommended, please note that taxi service is available for your next trip to Winona. We hope to have you back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

You are not in New York with this Plaza Hotel. It was okay, barely. The computer, especially the printer, was archaic. It was a nightmare to print boarding passes. The decor was tired. But it was dry and out of the rain

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

We're sorry to hear that you experienced difficulty printing your boarding passes. We hope that the Front Desk Staff was able to assist you with that task. You'll be happy to know that the hotel is always being updated, and since your visit, new lobby furniture has been added, with new carpeting to be installed in September 2014. We hope that you make it back to Winona soon so that you can enjoy the changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Located near Winona State University, this hotel was a perfect place to stay for our daughters "Family Weekend". We found it very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and courteous. The Green Mill restaurant is attached to the building, and offers room service. The breakfast buffet at The Green Mill was a bit disappointing, so we opted to order off the menu. The food was very god, and the service was excellent. The only issue we had with the hotel was that the pillows they use are HUGE. Not very comfortable. We asked if they had some smaller pillows. They were happy to give us replacements. We will definately stay there again...although we may bring our own pillows next time.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a 2 person jacuzzi suite, know that their tubs are a bit small and oddly s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2IllinoisChefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites for your last visit to Winona. Our staff works hard every day to provide a clean, restful place to stay, and they are always happy to hear how much their hard work is appreciated. The Green Mill Restaurant on site is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with room service available during regular restaurant hours. Be sure to take advantage of our discount coupons on your next visit! It looks like you arrived shortly after the new pillows did! We always have pillow options available, so were very glad that you asked for something that was more suited to your preferences. We'll look forward to having you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My daughter and son-in-law were house hunting in Winona. I was asked to come along . We stayed six nights in the Plaza Hotel and Suites, and could not have been happier with the accommodations. I had my own suite which included a most comfortable king sized bed, a gas fireplace, and a living room which housed a beautiful leather couch. There was a good sized flat screen tv in both the living room and the bedroom. We were pleased that a restaurant was attached to the hotel,serving breakfast lunch and dinner, daily. Also attached was a pub and bar for cocktails and beers, sports tv,etc. My 18 month old grandson enjoyed the enormous kiddie pool with two big slides and very shallow,baby depth water. We had a grand time at the Plaza.
One more quick point...the price of the room was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malobar716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Plaza Hotel and Suites for your extended stay. We receive many compliments from our guests about our beds and were happy to hear that you and your family felt the same way. We do our best to provide our guests with the most comfortable accommodations to make their stay most enjoyable. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just completed our fifth annual series of marketing seminars hosted at the Plaza Hotel and Suites. We keep coming back year after year because of the excellent customer service their staff provides. We book two separate presentation rooms and cater lunch and snacks from the Green Mill Restaurant located on site. Our rooms are set up to our exact specifications, with regular refreshing by their staff. The luncheon buffet had great variety with several types of wraps and sandwiches and two different soups. Any other needs were taken care of cheerfully and immediately by their front desk and maintenance staff. I'm happy to review and recommend them!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thomas, we greatly appreciate your continuous business and your kind words regarding our facility and staff members. We strive to provide the best possible customer service to all our guests whether it be a getaway in one of our spacious rooms or for a meeting held in our neatly prepared meeting rooms. Your review has been shared with the entire front desk and maintenance team, as well as The Green Mill. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you for your next seminar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I booked a reservation on cheaptickets.com and they would not honor the price. They said that's for government workers only...it's stated in the fine print. I read the fine print and viewed the hotel policy. We won't be staying there again. Nice room though.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you, Mary, for your review. As it does state on Cheaptickets.com, that rate is available only to United States Government and Minnesota State Government Employees traveling on government business. Please call us directly the next time you visit, we are more than happy to talk directly with you about your individual company’s business travel needs. We hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#5 of 7 in Winona
582 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,915 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range: $137 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing