We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seminar Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Winona, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great Seminar Host”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just completed our fifth annual series of marketing seminars hosted at the Plaza Hotel and Suites. We keep coming back year after year because of the excellent customer service their staff provides. We book two separate presentation rooms and cater lunch and snacks from the Green Mill Restaurant located on site. Our rooms are set up to our exact specifications, with regular refreshing by their staff. The luncheon buffet had great variety with several types of wraps and sandwiches and two different soups. Any other needs were taken care of cheerfully and immediately by their front desk and maintenance staff. I'm happy to review and recommend them!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thomas, we greatly appreciate your continuous business and your kind words regarding our facility and staff members. We strive to provide the best possible customer service to all our guests whether it be a getaway in one of our spacious rooms or for a meeting held in our neatly prepared meeting rooms. Your review has been shared with the entire front desk and maintenance team, as well as The Green Mill. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you for your next seminar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    58
    15
    7
    10
See reviews for
65
23
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I booked a reservation on cheaptickets.com and they would not honor the price. They said that's for government workers only...it's stated in the fine print. I read the fine print and viewed the hotel policy. We won't be staying there again. Nice room though.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, Mary, for your review. As it does state on Cheaptickets.com, that rate is available only to United States Government and Minnesota State Government Employees traveling on government business. Please call us directly the next time you visit, we are more than happy to talk directly with you about your individual company’s business travel needs. We hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We came to this hotel as part of a block that was set aside for many teams that were coming to play in a tournament. Some members of the block, which were people from different states and teams, had arrived the day before us and upon arrival we were told we would be kicked out if we caused problems without warning because members of other teams (that we didn't even know) had been loud the night before. We found this incredibly rude and it did not make us feel welcomed being threatened of eviction right away at check in. Our team had done nothing wrong and really shouldn't have been worried about being evicted when we hadn't done anything to disrupt other guests. I also didn't like that the hotel did not have breakfast. It was way too expensive for the amenities it offered.The pool area was OK. Big hot tub and pool and an area for kids to play. A little out dated if I remember correctly. Rooms were nice, flat screen TV's an nicely updated. I probably wouldn't chose to stay here again if I returned to Winona.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjm3748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, and do take our guests’ comments and feelings about their stay to heart. There had been trouble the night before with some attendees of the event that you were here to participate in, and therefore had to let all of the participating teams know that all of our guests are entitled to a quiet night’s sleep, and that is we received any complaints, that we would be forced to ask the guests who were not being respectful to leave. We apologize if this seemed offensive; however, there are times when enforcing hotel policies are needed. We do hope that you reconsider staying at The Plaza Hotel and Suites in the future; knowing that we truly strive to make all of our guests’ stays as enjoyable an experience as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We "settled" on staying here on our trip North after everything in La Crosse was booked. It was a stroke of good fortune! While the property was older, it was the cleanest & most comfortable we found on our trip. The pool and hot tub were not your typical chain size and the decor was great. A great zero entry for the kids with play area. An extra bonus was the sauna. No breakfast was included but it is connected to a Green Mill which was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your candid review. We are pleased you found your stay with us clean and comfortable. Our pool area is one of a kind, and seems to be a hit with all ages. We hope you took advantage of the discount coupons we provided for The Green Mill Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip north!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keuka Park, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I would definately stay again. Desk staff always very helpful in recommending places to see and where to get a good meal. The room very comfortable with King bed and a sofa in the room.
The washer and dryer availability was a great plus. If i had realized they had a laundry area I would not have packed so much. very convenient.
The Green Mill restaurant that is part of the Plaza was also convenient.

Room Tip: I did not have a problem with adjoining rooms noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you, Denise, for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in Winona. We are glad to hear that our on-site laundry facility was useful, we try to think of everything! The staff appreciated your comments about their helpfulness. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
204 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In general, I thought this hotel was quite nice, with one big caution. The front desk staff were friendly and seemed eager to help. I made good use of the guest laundry (this was the middle of an extended trip, so I needed the refresh). And my room was spacious and comfortable. I usually don't like the ground floor, but this was not a problem as there was no noise from above that I can recall (surprising, since there were a lot of college students staying at the hotel). What WAS a problem, however, was the sound from the adjoining room. This is the one big caution I referred to. Adjoining rooms are always a potential noise problem, because the doors between the rooms are made possible by a door-sized hole in the wall. And even though there is a door on each side, it's still a hole in the wall. So, one of the nights I stayed here, I was able to "enjoy" the conversation of the people in the adjoining room. I'm glad it was only a conversation, or it could have been quite embarrassing. And it wasn't as if they were shouting or even talking in loud voices. It was just a normal conversation in normal voices, but it was as if I was sitting with them. I probably could have joined in, again in a normal voice. Fortunately, I generally go to bed late, and equally fortunately, they finished talking at a reasonable hour. But unless all the rooms are joined to other rooms, I would strongly advise that travelers specifically ask for a non-adjoining room. Other than that, however, I have no complaints about the hotel. I'd be happy to stay again, in a room with no door-sized hole in the wall. If that option is not available, I would seriously consider staying somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff and your kind words have been shared with all staff members. We have rooms available throughout the hotel that are non-adjoining, do inquire about these rooms the next time you book with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Winona while our daughter was attending college but were never able to get in at the Plaza. We recently celebrated her wedding in Winona and had a block of rooms at the Plaza for ourselves and guests. All the wedding guests that stayed at the Plaza had nothing but positive comments about their stay. From the grounds around the hotel to the lobby and rooms everything was well maintained and comfortable. The pool area was a big hit with those with children. We will most definitely try to stay there again should we find ourselves in the Winona area. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We were on the backside of the hotel and it was very quiet and I can't speak to the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowboyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in Winona for your daughter’s wedding guests! We’re always honored to be selected to be a part of such an important occasion in our guests’ lives. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to send your kind compliments, your review has been passed on to the entire staff here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
22.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Property: The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing