We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay, but Beware of Adjoining Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

In general, I thought this hotel was quite nice, with one big caution. The front desk staff were friendly and seemed eager to help. I made good use of the guest laundry (this was the middle of an extended trip, so I needed the refresh). And my room was spacious and comfortable. I usually don't like the ground floor, but this was not a problem as there was no noise from above that I can recall (surprising, since there were a lot of college students staying at the hotel). What WAS a problem, however, was the sound from the adjoining room. This is the one big caution I referred to. Adjoining rooms are always a potential noise problem, because the doors between the rooms are made possible by a door-sized hole in the wall. And even though there is a door on each side, it's still a hole in the wall. So, one of the nights I stayed here, I was able to "enjoy" the conversation of the people in the adjoining room. I'm glad it was only a conversation, or it could have been quite embarrassing. And it wasn't as if they were shouting or even talking in loud voices. It was just a normal conversation in normal voices, but it was as if I was sitting with them. I probably could have joined in, again in a normal voice. Fortunately, I generally go to bed late, and equally fortunately, they finished talking at a reasonable hour. But unless all the rooms are joined to other rooms, I would strongly advise that travelers specifically ask for a non-adjoining room. Other than that, however, I have no complaints about the hotel. I'd be happy to stay again, in a room with no door-sized hole in the wall. If that option is not available, I would seriously consider staying somewhere else.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank MoseyOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff and your kind words have been shared with all staff members. We have rooms available throughout the hotel that are non-adjoining, do inquire about these rooms the next time you book with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in Winona while our daughter was attending college but were never able to get in at the Plaza. We recently celebrated her wedding in Winona and had a block of rooms at the Plaza for ourselves and guests. All the wedding guests that stayed at the Plaza had nothing but positive comments about their stay. From the grounds around the hotel to the lobby and rooms everything was well maintained and comfortable. The pool area was a big hit with those with children. We will most definitely try to stay there again should we find ourselves in the Winona area. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We were on the backside of the hotel and it was very quiet and I can't speak to the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CowboyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing The Plaza Hotel and Suites in Winona for your daughter’s wedding guests! We’re always honored to be selected to be a part of such an important occasion in our guests’ lives. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to send your kind compliments, your review has been passed on to the entire staff here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked a two room suite for one night for ourselves and our 3 sons and our son's girlfriend. The suite was quite roomy, and the rooms were nice and up to date. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. I did find a dirty coffee cup by the in-room coffee machine which was kind of gross but otherwise the rooms were pretty clean. We ate at the attached Green Mill for breakfast and were not impressed - understaffed and the buffet food was the quality of most hotels' free buffets. But overall a good hotel experience. If you need room for a good sized family, I would recommend the two-room suite - you can close the French doors and visit while others sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vhfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. You have described our spacious and beautifully decorated family suite wonderfully, and I’m glad that it met your family’s needs. Our housekeeping staff strives for perfection everyday, and I do apologize for the coffee cup. Rest assured that I have already made appropriate corrections to prevent a similar situation from occurring. Your kind comments about our friendly front desk team have been shared with our staff members. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Cindy Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have stayed there before and never had a bad experience, unless I stayed in the bar to long.
Got there early in the morning and met friends who stayed the evening before. I took a chance and asked if our room was available for early check in. The friendly clerk took a few minutes and to my surprise said yes. It was nice to put our MC luggage in our own room and freshen up before our day long ride. As usual the room was clean and well stocked and large enough for all of our belongings. (quiet sleeping) At check in each guest get's a $1.00 breakfast coupon and I would strongly urge you to use them. The breakfast is very good and Julie our waitress was great!
We will be there again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty and positive feedback regarding your stays at the Plaza Hotel and Suites. The front desk staff makes every effort to accommodate our guest’s requests. When an early check in is available, we know those few extra hours in the room can help jump start your stay! Our dedicated housekeeping staff strives to make each stay exceptional, as well. We truly have an extraordinary team throughout the property; your kind comments will be shared with all team members. We’re looking forward to your next visit!
Cindy Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had one of the nicest indoor pools I've been at. It had a separate children's pool, a sauna, and whirlpool tub. The rooms were okay a little dated. The people at the front desk were extremely nice. The restaurant attached to the hotel was not a very good choice to eat at. Nice for convenience but not great flavor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TravelingLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaHotel, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are very proud of our large indoor water recreation area, it has something for kids of all ages! Children enjoy the zero depth entry kiddy pool with three animal slides and arcade game area. Adults have the opportunity to unwind in our relaxing hot tub, pool and sauna. We are looking forward to our future guest room and hotel updates, also. Thank you for sharing your constructive comments to help us create the best experiences for our guests.
Cindy Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A bad nights sleep at the Winona Americinn motel forced me to look elsewhere for a more comfortable mattress. I found it at the Plaza in addition to an above average staff and quality of room. I checked into my room at 9:00 a.m. after 'bailing out' of the other motel. I would recommend this motel highly and will stay there again when the need arises. The only areas that could be improved would be a complimentary breakfast and wifi access. They do provide a discount coupon at their restaurant for dinner and breakfast and I was able to connect with the adjacent Holiday Inn's wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at the hotel attending a family reunion in the area. We found the hotel property and the our family suite to be clean and well maintained. Likewise, the fitness room and indoor pool were kept spotless. The front desk staff were very courteous, pleasant and helpful.I spend between 50-60 nights on the road for both business and pleasure and believe that I have reasonable judgement when evaluating hotel properties.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Winona
0.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#5 of 7 in Winona
582 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,918 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lacrosse Onalaska
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel & Suites

Address: 1025 Highway 61 East, Winona, MN 55987
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Winona
Price Range: $137 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites offers a variety of first class, upscale, beautifully decorated hotel rooms and suites, providing our guests with the very best in guest satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Plaza Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plaza Hotel Winona
The Plaza Hotel And Suites
Winona Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing