We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad copy of the original”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Mill

Green Mill
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Winona
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Twin Cities
Level Contributor
212 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Bad copy of the original”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Green Mill was the place to be back in the 80s. Sorry, just dated myself.

Many remember Green Mill's original places in the Twin Cities. Now they are franchised all over the place and Winona is not a very good copy.

They just installed one of the new fangled Coke machines that can spit out over 100 flavors of stuff. Our Cokes tasted like a mixture of 100 flavors. We mentioned it to the server who said all of her customers were complaining.

Our pizzas arrived cold and one was the wrong kind. The server tried to save things by apologizing, but they didn't take anything off the tab.

Now if we could only go back to the 80s...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    72
    45
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great new pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had the new Italia pizza over the weekend, it was fabulous with the hand tossed crust. It was some ofthe best pizza I've had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ezzy245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed a nice evening dinner here as it is located right across the street from our hotel. The waitstaff was friendly and we received our food promptly. One entree was a little spicier than anticipated, but overall the food was good. I only gave it 3 stars as the food did not WOW me. Prices were reasonable, friendly service, not a lot of choices in Winona. I will eat there again when visiting Winona.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnevanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rubber Stamp Green Mill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Green Mill fare is the same everywhere. It always tastes the same, fortunately that's very good. This restaurant was right across the parking lot from our hotel and we like the Green Mill, so it was a no brainer.
Our waitress seemed to be in a hurry. She offered take home boxes just 10 minutes after delivering our food and I had to ask for a refill on my soda so I could finish my pizza. We were there for about an hour total time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate here as the restaurant shared a parking lot with the hotel we were staying at. The food was good, as was the service. My only complaint was that the drink deal of the night was a free bottle of wine with any two pasta entrees and after two of the people in our party ordered pasta entrees were were not told of this special. We asked about it after noticing a tiny sheet of paper behind the salt and pepper shakers listing the drink specials of each day of the week. After notifying our server of this she said we did qualify for this and then brought the wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SizzlingSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing