We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Winona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

If you wish to treat yourself to a wonderful experience, step back in time and make a reservation at Richard's Bed and Breakfast in Winona, Minnesota. The Alexander Mansion is a treasure, with each room decorated in true period fashion. Richard offers wine and cheese in the late afternoon. He was also very helpful making suggestions for a restaurant for dinner, ......and he was spot on!
Richard offered wine, water, pop and jelly beans in the evening as we watched an old 1950 musical. Breakfast is a multicourse breakfast that can only be described as amazing! It you have a dietary issue, Richard is very accommodating. I look forward to returning in warm weather, so that we can enjoy the lovely wrap around porch!

Room Tip: Richard's website show photos of each of the rooms. There is also a suite in the basement, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
150
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The second you walk into the mansion you realize that every detail has been attended to while creating this incredible B & B!!!! Richard bends over backward to make your breakfast an engaging, delicious dining experience that typically is topped off by a chocolate sundae! If you want a WONDERFUL B & B experience with old world charm in a river town that has so much to offer - STAY WITH RICHARD at the ALEXANDER MANSION!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krups77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The place was just incredible, and so was the proprietor, Richard. He bent over backwards to serve the finest multiple-course breakfasts, made two pots of coffee - one strong, one weak - to accommodate differing tastes, got up unusually early to serve me coffee and a vegan breakfast before I had to leave for the day (for YogaFit teacher training at the YMCA), served unlimited wine at cocktail hour, and hand delivered a nightly nightcap to my room: fine liqueur accompanied by a dainty piece of dark chocolate, both served on individual silver trays. When I arrived, he walked out to my car and insisted on carrying my bags to my room. He offers unlimited free bottled water and pop. The mansion itself was stunningly gorgeous and impeccably kept. The common areas made me feel warm, cozy and absolutely relaxed - I actually wanted to spend time in them, especially the library with its magnificent fireplace which, during the cool of the evening displayed a lovely fire crackling with real wood. The wrap-around screened porch was no less comfortable than any of the indoor rooms and would be perfect for working, relaxing, reading, socializing or people watching. The landscaping was just as opulently pleasing to the eye as the indoor decor. Richard himself, who is extremely pleasant to talk to, consistently made me feel very well cared for and was never at a loss for suggestions of things to do or places to dine. All this for about the price I would have had to pay for a room at an ordinary hotel in downtown Winona. It was much, much more than I had expected - unbelievably fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peter, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent a weekend at this B&B Mansion that is completely restored in Victorian style. It is a beautiful place and nothing is too much for Richard. He takes care of the breakfast, which is special and all made fresh with organic veggies. He pours a nightcap with a nice chocolate and serves wine at happy hour. All included.
An incredible experience!
You need to like the ambiance.

Room Tip: We had Mary's room which is the maid's room and that was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plugge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A two-night stay for our anniversary at the Alexander Mansion in Winona, MN, was a wonderful experience for us! A beautifully appointed Victorian home, the warm and welcoming feeling when we walked in the door won us over immediately. Owner and host, Richard, was charming and lent his hospitality experience and superb style to make our stay so enjoyable. Wine in the evening, cordials and chocolate at turndown (in a gorgeous suite!), and a wake up to a 4-course breakfast each day made for a very special time for us. We highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast to all who would appreciate being pampered in style!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as a mini-honeymoon with my new husband. It was the most complete B&B, I have ever experianced! We were treated to a stay in the Durand room, which was so romatic and relaxing with the adjoining sun porch! The cool autumn air led us to have the fireplace on the second night, which gave an amazing ambience to the room. The breakfast was to die for! We were so full we did not eat the rest of the day. There is so much to do and see in this area, we took in antique stores, apple archards, a winery, an amazing Art museum, and a short trip to a casino.
The true gem of the property was Richar,d the Inn owner, he made sure everything went smoothly, gave us an amazing hisory of the house and area, and made reservations at a local restaraunt called Signatures. (this was also a lovely eating experince, and a must if you go!)
We are already planning when we can get back again for another get away!
Also ,our bed was the best rest we had had in the hectic planning of the wedding, we felt so pampered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Richard's fine B&B Sept. 7 and already am trying to plan a weekend back there. The mansion wows you upon entering the foyer and Richard is right there to carry your luggage to your room(s). There is no finer place to stay in the Winona area than the Alexander Mansion. Every detail has been addressed as you enter any one of its many rooms. The soft music playing from old style radios throughout the inn is relaxing and transports you to a different era. Breakfast should not be missed, as Richard and his staff keep the treats coming. We took Richard's recommendation and ate dinner at the Signatures restaurant (called that because of its many pieces of autographed movie and music memorabilia). I ate too much but couldn't stop as everything was so good. Their service is as excellent as their food. Richard will make you a dinner reservation at Signatures when you call him to book your room at the mansion. De-stress and breathe. You owe it to yourself!
Lynne from Waterford, WI.

Room Tip: Stayed in Martha's room and found it heavenly!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winona
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona
1.6 mi away
The Plaza Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Winona
Days Inn Winona
#4 of 7 in Winona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Express Suites Riverport Conference and Event Center
24.8 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
21.1 mi away
Prairie Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 274 E Broadway St, Winona, MN 55987-3732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Winona
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander Mansion Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn is conveniently located in downtown Winona between the Mississippi River and Winona lake. The Inn is surrounded by a private acre of gardens and trees. The perfect spot for both leisure and business travelers. Luxurious and comfortable furnishings, art, classical music, real wood fires, healthy delicious food and great books abound. In the mood for "Casablanca", "Now Voyager", or "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel", just ask; we love to do movies. Full concierge service and all business amenities available. Flexible breakfast times and menus for business travelers. In room work stations available. For solid comfort, convenience, and style we invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Alexander Mansion Hotel Winona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing