We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great bed and breakfast”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rock Garden West Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Rock Garden
West Room
West Room Bath
East Room
East Room Bath
North Room
North Room Bath
South Room
South Room Bath
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Upstairs Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sofa bed for additional guests
The view from the patio
Our neighborhood
Minnesota Marine Art Mueseum
Scenic Overlook
Mississippi River
National Eagle Center
Historic Downtown
Saint Mary's University
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winona, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tedtedFl
Lake City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great bed and breakfast”
Reviewed October 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Village House is a perfect little spot to land while in Winona. We were there with other family members and had the house to ourselves. Anne is a wonderful hostess. Very quiet location, very clean bed and breakfast home, and decorated beautifully.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toucangir...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great respite!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband stayed one night in late September, staying in the South Room on the 2nd floor. The room, its furnishing and bedding were all lovely and made us feel quite special. There also was a nice-sized closet and room in the bathroom to store things - a real plus for anyone staying more than one night. Outside of our room was a sitting room, which we also took advantage of. I could lounge on the couch there while my husband lounged on the chair and footstool in the bedroom. The other rooms on the 2nd floor also looked nice. Didn't see the room on the 1st floor.There is room to relax downstairs and also outside (too bad it was too cold for us that day). For hikers, there are about 15 miles of trails across the street on the St. Mary's campus - I think most of them climb the bluffs!

Anne was very accommodating and showed us everything we needed to know, including directions to a hall where were going dancing later that night and made recommendations for where to eat.

I would only complain - and mildly at that - at the pretty sparse continental breakfast, just granola and cereal, bananas and apples, and bakery-made pastry. Hard-boiled eggs would have been nice in order to get some morning protein. The host does not live onsite, which probably at least partially accounts for the breakfast. It's nice that the breakfast is self-serve, so we could eat breakfast on our own schedule.

We visited the Minnesota Marine Art Museum, and I would highly recommend that if you are in Winona.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARY PAT...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“WE LOVE THE VILLAGE HOUSE INN!”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were blessed this summer to spend a night at the delightful Village House Inn. Our friends had recommended it, and we discovered that the Village House Inn far exceeded our expectations!
From the moment we saw the colorful exterior, we were enchanted with the charming, comfortable setting.

ANNE, the proprietor, is simply wonderful. She made us feel right "at home" instantly. Our room was lovely---
the unique furnishings, the peaceful setting on the outside, the quiet inside.

It was especially "homey" that Anne advised us to use the refrigerator and any kitchen accommodations as if
they were our own. How comforting to make coffee when a person wants it, and/or store a nice wine bottle in the
fridge for the evening. We LOVED being there---and plan to go back soon!
Mary Pat & Ralph Davini

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumeial
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing, quiet....”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We rented out the entire house for a one night get away and would highly recommend it. It was very clean with lots of nice amenities. We really enjoyed the outside patio and would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S
1 review
“Business Trip”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I stayed one night at Village House Inn for a business trip primarily because the chain hotels I typically use were upwards of $130 in Winona. My priorities in business travel are comfort, budget and nearby dining options. The rate was very reasonable for such a pleasant B&B and it made me wish I was staying for a vacation. It is in a nice residential area and has plenty of restaurants in close proximity. I would love to return to Winona sometime to relax and enjoy the area. If I do, I will stay here.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Business
Traveling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn M
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed at the Village House Inn many times and we love it. The house becomes our home away from home when we attend Winona State football games and have post game gatherings for our family and friends. The dining room, extra tables and chairs and outdoor space have allowed us to host over 20 people after games. And then when the extras leave, our family settles in for fun and games around the piano or at the dining room table. Its so pleasant, roomy and a bathroom in every bedroom is a real perk.

My husband and I have also rented one room only and have enjoyed that experience as well. Close proximity to hiking and other great Winona activities makes this a great weekend getaway spot.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5thQuarte...
Apple Valley
1 review
“Awesome Family Gathering Spot”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We've stayed here with extended family twice in the last 3 years, and find it perfect for that purpose. The porch with pergola is a perfect outdoor space to hang out after a great day in Winona, and the indoor living space is open and has plenty of space to hang out later in the evening. The kitchenette has just about everything you'd need for a quick family meal, and even though there is no range, the grill outside provides a good alternative. The rooms are very clean and large, and there are a few bonus areas with a couch and pull-out love seat suitable to sleep a few extra children. The only drawback is the proximity to a main road, so there is some traffic noise at night. It would be lovely to stay here as a bed and breakfast, but it is even better as a family gathering spot. Great place!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing