We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“STAY HERE!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rock Garden West Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Rock Garden
West Room
West Room Bath
East Room
East Room Bath
North Room
North Room Bath
South Room
South Room Bath
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Upstairs Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Sofa bed for additional guests
The view from the patio
Our neighborhood
Minnesota Marine Art Mueseum
Scenic Overlook
Mississippi River
National Eagle Center
Historic Downtown
Saint Mary's University
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Winona, Minnesota

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FarNorthe...
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“STAY HERE!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Perfection!
MUCH better than a hotel, and better priced.
We stayed here during a weekend vacation.
It's lovely, well-maintained, clean, the continental breakfast is just what you need (foods from area coffee shops and bakeries), and simply better than staying in a hotel.
VERY accommodating.
STAY HERE STAY HERE STAY HERE!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewy10
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Outstanding in all respects.”
Reviewed April 18, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Village House. The area is beautiful and the Inn is modern, spacious and beautifully decorated. Great place to take kids. Loved the patio and landscaping as well. Thanks for everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfy, Cozy Relaxation”
Reviewed April 16, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

My husband and I wanted to get away from Minneapolis for the night, and this was a great spot. We did the book lovers deal so we were able to head out to the Blue Heron cafe and get a book next door.

On our way, there was some miscommunication with the directions (we really need a GPS), but our host, Anne, was very nice and gave us two tickets to the Marine Art Museum for the morning (which was nice).

If it had been warmer, it looked like there was some nice walking trails nearby. We very much enjoyed the individual temperature controlled rooms. The pillows were comfy, everything was very clean, and the little kitchen was nice. We had the entire house to ourselves which made it very quiet and relaxing. We prefer this to a B&B because we had a little more privacy and freedom. However, we gave it 4/5 because if there had been people there, we would have felt right on top of them. This would be a great place to rent out if you had a small group so you could have the house to yourselves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmngarden
Golden Valley, Minnesota
1 review
“comfortable home away from home”
Reviewed April 13, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We have stayed at Village House Inn twice. Both times we found it to be clean and comfortable. It is designed so you have the privacy of your own room plus shared common areas. Common areas have books and games to relax and enjoy. Our first stay was in the summer so we enjoyed sitting out on the patio . Self serve continental breakfast is provided (breads, granola, fruit). The food was great and most of it was from local merchants. If you have a family event you can rent the whole house which be an ideal location to enjoy your time together.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougJanes
Mt. Pleasant MI
1 review
“Beautifully restored turn of the century home into a magnificant B&B”
Reviewed April 13, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Our son started school at St. Mary's of Winona this past fall. We hadn't been to the area at all. To our surprise we found a quaint town right on the banks of the Missippi River. The town itself has plenty to offer including a treasured art museum compliments of the Snap on Tool founder. The inn itself is a wonderfully restored century old brick home. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent privacy. The common areas are spacious and warm. If you are traveling alone or in a group of 8 this is a must stay location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birdsaint...
Saint Paul
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It was a treat”
Reviewed April 12, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

A great place for a getaway weekend with friends or family.
We were a group of four and had the house to ourselves. It was phantastic to get up in the morning and have an extended breakfast without any rush and on our own time schedule. We absolutely enjoyed crosscountry skiing in the beautiful nature just in front of the doorsteps and visited a play In the evening at the University of St. Mary.
The house is very comfortable, tastefully decorated and in mint condition.
A gem not too far from to the Twin Cities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKVincent...
downers grove, Illinois, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed April 12, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We rented the entire Village House Inn for a long weekend. We had family and extended family stay with us. The Inn Keeper was terrific. We were lucky to have a 60degree day in April and the Inn Keeper pulled the gas grill out of storage and we enjoyed a dinner in with friends and family at the Inn.

Beautiful home with great personality.

I would stay again and again!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing